Environmental Resources Engineering: Patents and Standards

     The best tools for searching U.S. patents:

• Google Patent Search
  If you're looking for a specific patent or patent application from the USPTO, Google Patents provides the easiest way to search for it, but there are gaps in coverage. Coverage from the 1790s.
  
  
• Scopus
  Good tool for searching for patents on a specific subject. Over 23 million patents from five international patent offices. When searching, patent results will be displayed separately from other bibliographic records.
  
  

  ---

  
  Links to international patent offices and other open access websites:
  
  
• Canadian Patents Database
  
  
• esp@cenet
  The portal to Europe's network of patent offices.
  
  
• Japan Patent Office
  
  
• United States Patent and Trademark Office
  
  
• World Intellectual Property Organization
  One of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations.
  
  

  ---

  
  NOTE: Patents not available as full-text can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

While most do not provide open access to the full text of standards, these organizations do provide searchable indexes:

• American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
  
• American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM International)
  
• British Standards Institution (BSI)
  
• International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
• National Information Standards Organization (NIS0)
• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
• Underwriters Laboratories
  

The SU Library owns a limited number of standards in print:

• Annual Book of ASTM Standards
  All 82 volumes of the 2010 edition are now available in print in the Reference Collection of the Science & Technology Library (call number TA401 A653)
  
  
• ASCE Standards
  We do not own the complete collection of standards from the American Society of Civil Engineers, but those that we do own can be searched in the SU Library catalog
  
  

  ---

  
  Note: Any published standards not owned by the SU Library can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan