Research Guides: Environmental Resources Engineering: ERE 275: Ecological Engineering

Zotero

Zotero is a free Firefox add-on. This was originally developed for researchers who gather large amounts of content from the web. You can easily capture citations from websites, databases, YouTube, and more. You can easily create bibliographies in hundreds of different styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, ACS, and more. Zotero saves files to your hard drive and you can sync that with an online backup.

Download Zotero

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free desktop and web program that allows you to manage and share content you find across the web. As you search across journals, databases, and websites you can easily save citations and files to your library. You can also join groups based on topics, research areas, or create your own to share content and annotations. Through this program you can create bibliographies in many different styles, such as APA, Chicago, MLA, and much more. Mendeley syncs your desktop and web program so that you can have your content where you need it.

Create an Mendeley Account

APA Citation Style Examples

Journal Article

Leng, F., Amado, L., & McMacken R. (2004). Coupling DNA supercoiling to transcription in defined

protein systems. Journal of Biological Chemistry, 279(46), 47564-47571. doi:10.1074/jbc.M403798200

Website

Ohio Department of Natural Resources. (2013). How do we get beautiful fall foliage? Retrieved from

http://www2.ohiodnr.gov/news/post/how-do-we-get-beautiful-fall-foliage

Book

Mihelcic, J.R. & Zimmerman, J.B. (2010). Environmental engineering: fundamentals, sustainability,

design. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Librarian

Ruth Owens

Email Me

Contact:

Moon 109-C

315-470-4780

Subjects: Acquistions, Chemistry, Engineering, Environmental Science, ESF 200, Interlibrary Loan, Research

Recommended Databases

Science Direct
Searches peer reviewed articles. Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,400 journals and books. (Provider: Elsevier)
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains full text and/or abstracts for over 2500 journal and book titles. (Provider: EBSCOhost)
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. (Provider: Clarivate)
Wiley Online Library
Provides abstract searches and full-text access to many peer-reviewed journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. (Provider: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.)
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, food safety, and introductions to environmental disasters. Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information.(Provider: Gale)
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. (Provider: EBSCOhost)

Environmental Resources Engineering: ERE 275: Ecological Engineering