Research Guides: Chemistry @ESF: Find Articles

Primary sources

Primary scientific literature contains original research and is often the first reporting of this scientific data. Find these types of articles in peer-reviewed journals.

Browse Journals

Search for Library Materials

Search for articles in academic journals and other resources.

Databases and Resources

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z | All Databases

Search course reserves by class prefix, class name, instructor, or course reserve title

(315) 470-6711 | ask@esf.libanswers.com | Staff Directory

Already have a citation?

Suggested Databases

Begin searching for articles by first choosing a database.

Databases contain collections of articles. If you know which database you would like to search or would like to browse databases, click here. A few of our favorite databases are listed below.

SciFinder
Provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.

Science Direct
Full text access to more than 1800 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. (Provider: Clarivate)

PubMed
This database provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Provides broad coverage of all types of data commonly encountered by physical scientists and engineers. This internet edition has added 13 new subsections that can be accessed as interactive tables. All material in the printed Handbook is accessible in the Internet version.

Newspaper articles

Print Newspapers

The current week of The New York Times in print is available at Moon Library's main service desk.

Electronic Newspapers

For a wide variety of news coverage, please explore the resources listed below:

Newspaper Source Plus Newspaper Source Plus indexes more than 800 newspapers and news wire services from around the world, as well as television and radio news transcripts from many major broadcasting organizations. Many titles include the full-text or full-image content from recent years. (Provider: EBSCOhost)
InfoTrac Newsstand Full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. (Provider: Gale)

NOVEL NY
Includes a wide variety of newspapers. Available to anyone with a NYS Driver's Licence or NYS Photo ID.
Google News Archive
Search historical content from newspapers, magazines, and legal archives.
Syracuse.com
Search full text articles published in the Syracuse Post-Standard during the past 14 days.
Newspapers - USA and Worldwide
A directory of newspapers available online, including both U.S. and international publications.
OnlineNewspapers.com
A directory of newspaper websites worldwide, organized by geographic region.