On June 7, 1885 the prominent landscape architect Fletcher Steele was born in Rochester, NY. During his lifetime Fletcher Steele designed over 700 gardens between 1915 and 1971. Steele's gardens were elaborate and incorporated sculptures, statues, iron work, stone work and water features. When Fletcher Steele passed away in the early 1970's the Upstate NY Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects who had received Steele's personal and business archives donated much of Steele's archives to the SUNY ESF Archives. The Steele archives located at SUNY ESF contains intricately hand drawn garden plans, photographs of Steele's gardens, his scrapbooks from his world travels and more! To learn about the Fletcher Steele archives located in the SUNY ESF archives and to see a sampling of photos and plans of Steele's gardens please visit http://www.esf.edu/moonlib/steele/collection.htm And for the online Finding Aid for the Steele archives ad SUNY ESF please visit http://libguides.esf.edu/steele
Of note - one of Steele's most impressive gardens is Naumkeag in Salem, Massachusetts. Once a private home and garden - the 44 room home and 8 acres of gardens are now open to the public. http://www.thetrustees.org/places-to-visit/berkshires/naumkeag.html
This TBT was brought to you by Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian, SUNY ESF, F. Franklin Moon Library
This week we remember Charles Lathrop Pack who passed away June 14, 1937. Charles Lathrop Pack and the Pack family are forever tied to the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Examples of the Pack family generosity through the years with SUNY ESF can been seen in so many ways. In 1923 Charles Lathrop Pack donated 1,000 acres to our college which eventually was used to create the Charles Lathrop Pack Experimental Forest and the Cranberry Lake Biological Station. Also in the Adirondacks is Pack Forest http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/1875.html with 2,500 acres and an 85 acre lake.
On a personal note the SUNY College of Environmental Sciences and Forestry Archives has a number of family items from the Pack family including a scrapbook on Charles Lathrop Pack's 70th birthday in 1927.
In Alexandra Eyle's book Charles Lathrop Pack: Timberman, Forest Conversationalist, and Pioneer in Forest Education she wrote that "When Charles died, newspapers across the country heralded him as a major leader in forest conservation. He had worked for and helped fund several lobbying organizations that heled pass key timber conservation legislation. ...For seven years he served as the controversial president of the American Forestry Association. Then after losing a power struggle with the other AFA officers, he left that agency and launched his own conservation organizations. His first was the American Tree Association, established in 1922 as a vehicle for promoting forest conservation through massive public-relations campaigns. ...In addition Charles also established the American Nature Association, which monthly published Nature Magazine and lobbied for roadside beautification programs. ...In addition Charles Lathrop Pack kept professional foresters informed through his Forestry News Digest. .. He also personally contributed to the field by writing numerous books on the subject, including The Forestry Primer. ...He organized, funded, and headed the National War Garden Commission...Following World War I, Charles helped reforest the Allied countries, whose forests had been devastated."
This TBT was brought to you by Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian, SUNY ESF, F. Franklin Moon Library
As some SUNY ESF students head to the Cranberry Lake Biological Station this summer and as many others reminisce about having spent a summer there --- we take a moment to open up a SUNY ESF student’s scrapbook from their summer at Cranberry Lake. These photos of Cranberry Lake are from 1934 and the entire scrapbook of this one student’s memories of SUNY ESF is located in the SUNY ESF Archives.
This August the Cranberry Lake Biological Station is hosting a Centennial Celebration from August 5 – 7, 2016. To learn more about the 100+ year history of the Cranberry Lake Biological Station visit http://www.esf.edu/clbs/about.htm
And to learn about the Centennial Celebration visit the Cranberry Lake Reunion webpage for a list of events for the celebration weekend
http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/event?oeidk=a07ecqjljo2d474e320&llr=5mv4pxpab
This TBT was brought to you by Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian, SUNY ESF, F. Franklin Moon Library
Many have walked through the doors of the F. Franklin Moon Library on the main ESF campus which was dedicated in 1968 in honor of SUNY ESF professor emeriti and Dean of ESF - F. Franklin Moon. The library had for years had been named for Moon and had been the Moon Memorial Library when it was located in Marshall Hall in the 1930's. Frederick Franklin Moon was born on July 3, 1880 and during his career at ESF he had a lasting impact on the college and so carrying on his name on the new library building was fitting.
Franklin Moon as he was known - began his career at SUNY ESF as a Professor of Engineering in 1912. He then served as Acting Dean for 20 months (1917-1918) while Dean Hugh P. baker was in the Army. Moon was appointed Dean of the College in 1920 and was also a professor of silviculture until his sudden passing in 1929. Moon was only 49 when he passed away but he had already become known as one of the most distinguished men in forestry in the nation. Moon was a member of the American Forestry Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and was the delegate for the World's Forestry Congress.
Just prior to his passing in September 1929 - Franklin Moon had met in July 1929 with Governor Franklin Roosevelt on the SUNY ESF campus. Roosevelt was travelling through New York for his waterway tour of the state and the inspection of state establishments.
Franklin Moon is buried next to SUNY ESF in Oakwood Cemetery with his headstone overlooking campus.
This TBT was brought to you by Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian, SUNY ESF, F. Franklin Moon Library
