Skip to main content

Fletcher Steele - Landscape Architect: Fletcher Steele Archives at SUNY ESF

Jane Verostek - Associate Librarian at SUNY ESF created this guide to provide information about landscape architect Fletcher Steele. The SUNY ESF Archives and Special Collections contains the personal and business archives of Steele.

Overview of the Fletcher Steele Archives at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Overview of the Fletcher Steele Archives at

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse - New York

The Fletcher Steele Manuscript Collection was donated to the College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, New York in 1971 by the Upstate NY Chapter of the ASLA - The American Society of Landscape Architects. The collection is housed in the Franklin Moon Library at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry and includes:

  • 749 Drawings, blue prints and photos of Fletcher Steele designed gardens.
  • 12,000 negatives made by Steele from 1913-1970 - including pictures from his works in progress and his travels around the world.
  • Client order books, which contain client names, suppliers and nursery orders.
  • 8" X 10" Photostat prints of sketches, renderings, and site plans for 85 of his clients.
  • Scrapbooks of photographs and notes made by Fletcher Steele of his gardens.
  • Scrapbooks and postcards of Fletcher Steele's travels around the world.
  • Sketchbooks and appointment books.

Of special note - all of the photographs in the Fletcher Steele archives are in black and white. The archives does not contain any color photographs.

How to Access the Fletcher Steele Archives at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

How to Access the Fletcher Steele Archives at

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
 

For research questions related to Fletcher Steele please contact Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry at jmveros@esf.edu or by phone at 315-470-6718.

Of note - all of the archives of Fletcher Steele are located in one room/location.

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry is located in Syracuse, NY and the Archives and Special Collections rooms are located in Moon Library on the college's main campus in Syracuse. For more information on the location of our campus please visit http://www.esf.edu/maps/

For more information on our Archives and Special Collections visit our homepage at http://www.esf.edu/moonlib/archives/

Fletcher Steele in Russia as an inspector for the American Red Cross in WW I

Fletcher Steele in 1918 in Russia as in inspector for the American Red Cross in WW I.

Photograph from: 

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry Archives and Special Collections