Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Grants: COS Community of Science PIVOT

This guide was created for Professor Sonnenfeld's students. This guide helps with finding grants and writing grant proposals. Provides links and information for Community of Science and PIVOT and the Foundation Directory and grants.gov

Who is COS - Community of Science?

COS is the leading global resource for hard-to-find information critical to scientific research and other projects across all disciplines.

We aggregate valuable information so you spend less precious time and money searching for the information you need, leaving you more time and money for your projects.

Find funding with COS Funding Opportunities:

search the world's most comprehensive funding resource, with more than 25,000 records worth over
$33 billion.

 

Identify experts and collaborators with COS Expertise:

search among 500,000 profiles of researchers from 1,600 institutions throughout the world. Discover who's doing what -- current research activity, funding received, publications, patents, new positions and more.

 

Promote your research with a COS Profile:

showcase your research and expertise among researchers and scholars from universities, corporations and nonprofits in more than 170 countries. Use convenient tools to keep your CV updated and accessible.

 

COS Introduces PIVOT

From the COS website

- COS Introduces Pivot - http://pivot.cos.com/about_pivot

 

The Next Generation of Funding and Research Expertise - Connected

For years, COS a ProQuest brand has been recognized as a global leader that provides unmatched tools for discovering funding opportunities and supporting the collaboration in th research development field. Pivot answers the growing demands on research developers to quickly discover the right funding opportunities and effectively collaborate with their colleagues. Designed for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students, it's intuitive and easily implemented.

The Pivot difference

Pivot focuses on what matters most to Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions: the ability to identify and connect funding opportunities to researchers at their institution. Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with our unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Its proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to your organization (and others) and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside your institution. Conversely, a search for a scholar will link to matching funding opportunities.

Intended to combat the complexities of multiple ways to research, Pivot provides robust, out-of-the-box capabilities with your needs built in. This means a better fit for your funding and grant requirements, and fast, reliable implementation.

Finding the right funding is only the start

Between access to worldwide funding at your fingertips and a personal connection to a vast community of scholars, our solution provides all the necessary features to bring together your search of funding and research professionals.

In a tight economic climate where no institution can afford to not find funding, Pivot provides the next generation of funding and research expertise you need to keep your institution connected.

Pivot is an unmatched tool that:

  • Provides access to the most comprehensive source of funding opportunities globally
  • Identifies researcher expertise from within or outside of your organization
  • Enhances communication, monitoring, and tracking amongst individual faculty, teams, or researchers and the Research Development office
  • Allows the focus to be on winning the necessary awards and grants
  • Enables you to add internal deadlines to critical funding opportunities and sends weekly updates on saved searches you organize in your own folders

With a personalized experience through your own profile, Pivot pinpoints funding opportunities with searches that

  • Accurate: Updated daily to add new information drawn from sources linked to profiles in publications from vetted sources and web content associated with a scholar's profile, and to drop out expired opportunities.
  • Automated: Users can receive alerts whenever new matching opportunities are posted that match their saved searches.
  • Focused: Search just one database for funding in any discipline and country, rather than multiple sources or scattershot across the internet.

Unlimited world-class support

COS has a long-standing reputation for support. With Pivot, you have access to free and simple enhancements, unlimited technical support available by email, phone, or online along with thorough training and frequent communication for administrators and users.

Find the support you need, plus free live and recorded training webinars.

Get Started with using PIVOT

HOW TO JOIN PIVOT

Vsit the PIVOT sign in page https://pivot.cos.com/register

You must be affiliated with an institution that subscribes to Pivot in order to create an account. You will receive a verification email. Once your account is created, your email address will be your Pivot user id.

This database is available campus-wide and can be accessed using a username and password. Pivot seems to have the most comprehensive coverage of private foundations.

http://pivot.cos.com/ - Click ‘New User' (left side) and follow below directions.


You must Sign Up for Pivot to access features including email alert service.

How to join Pivot and set up funding alerts:

1.   Choose Sign Up for Pivot.

o  Choose either: State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry OR Syracuse University, depending on your affiliation. (NOTE: students with @syr.edu email addresses will need to use the SU affiliation)

o  When finished entering information, select the button ‘Create my Account'.

2.   Choose the button 'Create my account"'.

3.   Choose tab at top 'Funding'.

4.   Choose 'Search- for funding or scholars' which is near the top right.

o  Browse for and add keywords to your search.

o  The advanced search option may provide more accurate results

o  You may also search for scholars (many of our ESF faculty are listed in the database) and their funding opps

§  This may help you get started

Tip: Need to be on campus in order to set up accout. Also, use your college email account.

Log in to Pivot to view Funding Alert results, update your profile, and access CoS services.