Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Grants: Funding/Grant Resources

This guide was created for Professor Sonnenfeld's students. This guide helps with finding grants and writing grant proposals. Provides links and information for Community of Science and PIVOT and the Foundation Directory and grants.gov

Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory is an S.U. subscribed database.

To access go to an S.U. library or access via Air Orange

Go to the S.U. Database Webpage http://library.syr.edu/databases/ and enter in Foundation Directory in the search box.

From the Foundation Directory website:

Foundation Directory Onlineis the nation's leading online funding research tool, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization founded over 50 years ago to help open U.S. foundations to public view. Over the past half-century we have evolved from one small library into philanthropy's information hub.

Our mission is to strengthen the nonprofit sector by advancing knowledge about U.S. philanthropy. To help grantseekers and other nonprofit executives fulfill the missions of their organizations, we provide broad access to information, research, and education through five regional centers, a national network of Cooperating Collections, our web site at foundationcenter.org, and our suite of print and electronic resources—including Foundation Directory Online.

U.S. Government Grants

Grants.gov is a free database.

Click here to visit the Grants website Grants.gov

From the Grants.gov website:

Grants.gov was established as a governmental resource named the E-Grants Initiative, part of the President's 2002 Fiscal Year Management Agenda to improve government services to the public.

The concept has its origins in the Federal Financial Assistance Management Improvement Act of 1999, also known as Public Law 106-107. Public Law 106-107 has since sunset and is now known as the Grants Policy Committee (GPC).

Today, Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards. 

  • Includes funding information for 44 federal agencies
  • Can search for grants
  • Set up email alerts for grant notices
  • Subscribe to grant notices via RSS feeds
  • It is not necessary to register with Grants.gov – contact the Office of Research Programs for further information

Research Times

The Research Times, is an on campus SUNY ESF publication. It is issued twice per month and contains funding opportunities helpful to SUNY ESF faculty, staff and researchers.