Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Grants: Bibliographic Research

This guide was created for Professor Sonnenfeld's students. This guide helps with finding grants and writing grant proposals. Provides links and information for Community of Science and PIVOT and the Foundation Directory and grants.gov

Where to find research databases

To search for e-journals and to search within SUNY ESF subscribed databases use this link http://libguides.esf.edu/resources

You can also access the e-journals and databases page by visiting the Moon Library homepage http://www.esf.edu/moonlib/ from there click on the tab for E-Journals.

We are continuing to add in e-journals and databases so the list you see will grow.

Please note that to use any S.U. subscribed databases you need to be on the S.U. campus. To search the S.U. databases visit this site http://library.syr.edu/ from within an S.U. Library.

Video Tutorial - How to use SUNY ESF Databases & Ejournals

Research help

Moon Library online assistance at your fingertips 24/7! - LibGuides and LibAnswers and Library 411 Video Tutorials.

 

 The F. Franklin Moon Library at SUNY ESF has online assistance for research questions and reference help.

There are three ways to find 24/7 online assistance from Moon Library. 

 

1.      LibGuides - http://libguides.esf.edu

 

LibGuides are online research guides created by Moon Library librarians.

These guides are on various topics that contain text, embedded links and media.

LibGuides are constantly being created and updated. Currently there are

LibGuides on Changes at Moon Library (with regards to the library catalog,

databases, off campus access, etc.) -  Online citation generators and managers –

Specific guides for ESF classes and more! From our LibGuides webpage you can:

·         Resort the guides and view by most popular, recent or all.

·         Search all of the LibGuide content by keyword.

·         Browse by subject and see related LibGuides

·         Keep up to date on new LibGuides or LibGuides changes & sign up for email alerts/updates.

 

2.         LibAnswers - http://libanswers.esf.edu

LibAnswers is an interactive site where you can ask a question and a Moon Library

librarian will respond during library reference hours

(Mondays - Thursdays 9:30-6:00 and Fridays 9:30-4:00).

LibAnswers is also a database of all the previously asked questions

and answers so you can search to see if the question you have has already been asked.

From our LibAnswers webpage you can:

·         Submit a question to the Moon Librarians via an online form.

·         Browse previously asked questions and answers by topic.

·         Search previously asked questions and answers by keyword.

·         Find contact information for Moon Library.

 

 3.         Library 411 Video Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/Library411  

Library 411 is a series of video tutorials by Moon Library Librarians.

The videos combine real person guidance and PowerPoint and live demonstrations

on a variety of topics. Currently there are Library 411 videos on:

Moon Library tour -  Research Tips - Citations – Blackboard – LibGuides –

LibAnswers - Library Trivia – Searching for grants and more!