Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EST 603 Research Methods and Design: Funding - Grant Databases

This online guide reviews databases that can assist with finding funding & grant resources. Databases covered include PIVOT, the Foundation Directory and Grants.gov Many of databases are very useful for graduate student research.

Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory is an S.U. subscribed database.

To access go to an S.U. library or access via Air Orange

Go to the S.U. Database Webpage http://library.syr.edu/databases/ and enter in Foundation Directory in the search box.

From the Foundation Directory website:

Foundation Directory Onlineis the nation's leading online funding research tool, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization founded over 50 years ago to help open U.S. foundations to public view. Over the past half-century we have evolved from one small library into philanthropy's information hub.

Our mission is to strengthen the nonprofit sector by advancing knowledge about U.S. philanthropy. To help grantseekers and other nonprofit executives fulfill the missions of their organizations, we provide broad access to information, research, and education through five regional centers, a national network of Cooperating Collections, our web site at foundationcenter.org, and our suite of print and electronic resources—including Foundation Directory Online.

U.S. Government Grants

Grants.gov is a free database.

Click here to visit the Grants website Grants.gov

From the Grants.gov website:

Grants.gov was established as a governmental resource named the E-Grants Initiative, part of the President's 2002 Fiscal Year Management Agenda to improve government services to the public.

The concept has its origins in the Federal Financial Assistance Management Improvement Act of 1999, also known as Public Law 106-107. Public Law 106-107 has since sunset and is now known as the Grants Policy Committee (GPC).

Today, Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards. 

  • Includes funding information for 44 federal agencies
  • Can search for grants
  • Set up email alerts for grant notices
  • Subscribe to grant notices via RSS feeds
  • It is not necessary to register with Grants.gov – contact the Office of Research Programs for further information

The Research Foundation for SUNY

From the RF website - http://www.rfsuny.org/

The Research Foundation for The State University of New York (RF) is the largest, most comprehensive university-connected research foundation in the country.

Serving SUNY and New York State, the RF provides essential services to SUNY faculty, students and staff who are performing life-changing research in life sciences and medicine; engineering and nanotechnology; physical sciences and energy; social sciences; and computer and information sciences. More than 15,000 dedicated RF employees work on SUNY-led research, training and public service projects throughout New York, across the country and around the world.

The RF strategic plan is aligned with the Power of SUNY and SUNY’s Research and Innovation Strategy. The RF is committed to integrity, accountability and transparency in carrying out its mission.

Other Funding Resources

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) http://www.cfda.gov contains detailed program descriptions for more than 2,300 Federal assistance programs.

proposalCENTRAL https://proposalcentral.altum.com/ is an e-grantmaking website shared by many government, non-profit, and private grant-making organizations.

NYS Grants Gateway https://grantsgateway.ny.gov/IntelliGrants_NYSGG/module/nysgg/goportal.aspx serves as the primary outlet for New York State agencies to post upcoming and available funding opportunities.

Weekly Networks of Excellence Funding Opportunities: A listing of external funding opportunities relevant to SUNY’s six Networks of Excellence culled from the resources above. Please email Kimberly Eck, Manager of Collaborative Proposal Development, kimberly.eck@rfsuny.org if you would like to be added to her weekly email listserv.

Philanthropy News Digest http://www.philanthropynewsdigest.org, a daily news service of the Foundation Center, is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. The listing of competitive RFPs are updated daily.

Foundation Center http://www.foundationcenter.org/maintains a comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grant-making foundations and corporations (subscription required).

VIVO http://www.vivoweb.org/is an open source semantic web application originally developed and implemented at Cornell. When installed and populated with researcher interests, activities, and accomplishments, it enables the discovery of research and scholarship across disciplines at that institution and beyond.