Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Find Open Textbooks
Affordable Learning Solutions (CSU)
You can search by ISBN to find an Open Textbook related to a book. The page also includes a keyword search tool by topic for the MERLOT database, and links to textbooks in MERLOT by subject.
BC Campus provides a curated list of open textbooks
Biodiversity Heritage Library
More than 50,00 titles in the field of biological diversity. Coverage form 1450- present.
Boundless has released 18 open textbooks under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA).
Registration is required to use their study tools, but is not needed to access the textbooks' content.
College Open Text Books
"The Community College Open Textbooks Collaborative is funded by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. This collection of sixteen educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges."
Rice University's Connexions is a repository of open materials. Their list of other sources includes the OER Commons Textbooks.
MERLOT's Open Textbook Initiative
MERLOT's collection has over 900 Open Textbooks, and it allows you to search for textbooks by subject, whereas many other sites just provide list of books, which can get unwieldy. Click on a link to your subject area and you then get a hit list of Open Textbooks in different sub-disciplines.
Open Course Library
From the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, the courses include textbooks.
"OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers." Open Stax is an initiative of Rice University and Connexions.
Open SUNY Affordable Learning Solutions (ALS)
A State University of New York (SUNY) initiative to provide affordable educational alternatives to traditional textbooks
A service to assist SUNY faculty, librarians, and staff to identify lower-cost, electronic, free, and Open Educational Resources (OERs)
Click on the link for "browse open textbooks."
PDXOpen is an open access textbook publishing initiative to support Portland State faculty developing open access textbooks. Disciplines include architecture, engineering, life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, and others.
SUNY Open Textbook Project
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by SUNY libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
University of Minnesota Open Textbook Catalog
All textbooks in the Minnesota catalog must meet four conditions: (1) Openly licensed (2) Complete (3) Suitable for adoption outside the author's institution (4) Available in print.
These textbooks are free, but not open.
Bookboon.com http://bookboon.com/ Their website says you must have Adobe Reader installed to view their books, and I had to enter an email address to download a textbook. The textbook I examined had advertising on some of its pages. It doesnt appear these books are editable so they actually may only be free and not "open."