Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fletcher Steele - Landscape Architect: Personal Book Collection

Jane Verostek - Associate Librarian at SUNY ESF created this guide to provide information about landscape architect Fletcher Steele. The SUNY ESF Archives and Special Collections contains the personal and business archives of Steele.

Steele's Personal Book Collection

Steele's Personal Book Collection

Part of the Steele archives that we received was his personal book collection. Paperwork shows us the exact location in Steele's house where each book was located - the kitchen, a bedside table, etc. This list is the list of books that were in Steele's home when he passed away. Some of these books are located in the SUNY ESF Archives and Special Collection as shown in the below finding aid. The column labeled Onesearch is referring to our online catalog that was used to confirm that these items can be located by the public via our online catalog http://www.esf.edu/moonlib/

Steele's Personal Book Collection

Citation

One search

Location

Call number

Lay, C. D. (1924). A garden book for autumn and winter. New York, Duffield & company, 1924.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

 

SB453 .L37

 

Rockwell, F.: Gardening indoors 1912, New York

no

 

 

Dickinson, L. S. (1930). The lawn; the culture of turf in park, golfing and home areas. New York, Orange Judd publishing company, inc.; London, K. Paul, Trench, Trubner & co., ltd., 1930.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB433 .D5

Bailey, L. H. (1906). Garden-making: suggestions for the utilizing of home grounds. New York : Grosset & Dunlap, 1906.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB93 .B15 1906

Church, T. D., Hall, G., & Laurie, M. (1983). Gardens are for people. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1983.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB473 .C5 1983

Stanley, Morison: Fra luca De Pacioli. 1933, New York.

no

 

 

Hubbard, H. V., & Hubbard, T. K. (1917). An introduction to the study of landscape designs. Macmillan [c1917].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

S8472 .H8

Root, R. R. (1941). Contourscaping. Chicago, R. F. Seymour [c1941].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB476 .R65

Edwards, E. B. (1932). Dynamarhythmic design; a book of structural pattern. New York, The Century co., 1932.

yes

Moon Library Books

NK1510 .E3

Proulx: Old Manors and old Houses. 1927. Quebec

no

 

 

Burgh, W.: The English Garden. 1783. London

no

 

 

Price, U. b. (1796). An essay on the picturesque, as compared with the sublime and the beautiful; and, On the use of studying pictures, for the purpose of improving real landscape. London, Printed for J. Robson, 1796.

Yes, multiple copies

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .P83 1796

PR3639.P8 E8 1798

PR3639.P8 E8 1796 v.2

Allan, Louis. Rural Architecture. 1865. New York

no

 

 

Bradley, R. (1739). New improvements of planting and gardening, both philosophical and practical. In three parts. I. Containing, A new system of vegetation ... II. The best manner of improving flower-gardens or parterres ... III. Of improving fruit-trees, kitchen-gardens, and green-house plants. London: Printed for A. Bettesworth and C. Hitch [etc.] 1739.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB97 .B8 1739

Langley, Batty: The sure method of improving estates. 1728. London

no

 

 

Riou, Steven; Short principle of the architecture of stone bridges. 1760. London

no

 

 

Jombert, Charles A.: L’art les jardins modernes. 1771. Paris

no

 

 

Mason, G., & Mason, G. (1795). An essay on design in gardening. London, B. and J. White, 1795.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .M4

Richard, Knight: An analytical inquiry into the principles of taste. 1805. London

No

 

 

 

Archiball, Allison: An essay on the nature and principals of taste. 1811, Edinburgh. Vol. 1

no

 

 

Gilpin, W., & Lauder, T. D. (1834). Remarks on forest scenery and other woodland views. Edinburgh : Fraser, 1834.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

DA625 .G5 v.1

SD385 .G54 1834 v.2

Grandville, J. J., Delord, T., Karr, A., & Raban. (1847). Les fleurs animées. Paris, Gabriel de Gonet, 1847.

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NC1135 .G63 1847

Murray, John: On color and taste. 1858. London.

no

 

 

M. L’abbe: La pratique du jarninage. 1772. Paris.

no

 

 

Johnson, G. W. (1829). A history of English gardening, chronological, biographical, literary, and critical. Tracing the progress of the art in this country from the invasion of the Romans to the present time. London, Baldwin & Cradock [etc.] 1829.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB451 .J7

Morel, J. M. (1818). Théorie des jardins : ou l'art des jardins de la nature. Paris : Chez L. Colas, 1818.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .M6 1818

Rapin, R., & Gardiner, J. (1708). Of gardens. A Latin poem. In four books. London, Printed by W. Bowyer for B. Lintot [1708?].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB455 .R4 1708

Switzer, S. (1742). Ichnographia rustica: or, The nobleman, gentleman, and gardener's recreation. Containing directions for the surveying and distributing of a country-seat into rural and extensive gardens, by the ornamenting and decoration of distant prospects, farms, parks, paddocks, &c. Originally calculated ... for the embellishment of countries in general; as also for an introduction to a general system of agriculture and planting. Illustrated with above fifty copper plates. London, Printed for J. and J. Fox [etc.] 1742.

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB97 .S97 1742

Whately, T. (1771). Observations on modern gardening, illustrated by descriptions.. London, Printed for T. Payne, 1771.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .W5 1771

Henderson, P. (1883). Practical floriculture; a guide to the successful cultivation of florists' plants, for the amateur and professional florist. New York, O. Judd Company, 1883.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB405 .H4 1883

Flagg, W. (1857). Studies in the field and forest. Boston, Little, Brown, 1857.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QH104.5.N4 F5

Garden Annual. 1935. Gardens & Gardening. 1935. London

no

 

 

In Theorie du Jardinage. 1774. Paris.

no

 

 

Country Rambles.  1853. Buffalo. Chinney & Co.

no

 

 

Harcourt, F. d., & Ganay, E. d. (1919). Traité de la décoration des dehors, des jardins et des parcs... publié et précédé d'une introduction par Mons. le comte Ernest de Ganay. Paris, Émile-Paul, 1919.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB472 .H36

Girardin, R. d. (1783). An essay on landscape; or, on the means of improving and embellishing the country round our habitations. London : J. Dodsley ; 1783.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .G57 1783

Tinker, Chauncey B.: Nature’s Simple Plan. 1922. Princeton

no

 

 

Jacquemin, E. (1866). Fers rustiques : brevetés en France S.G.D.G. & a létranger. Paris : E. Jacquemin, 1866.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NK8298.J365 F48F

Bossom, A. C. (1924). An architectural pilgrimage in old Mexico. New York, Scribner, 1924.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA750 .B6

 

pages 6

Citation

One search

Location

Call number

Brenckmann, A.E.: Schone garten. 1926. Munchen.

no

 

 

The significance of the fine arts. (1923). Boston, Mass., : Marshall Jones company, [c1923].

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

N5300 .A6

Goldsmith, M. O. (1941). Designs for outdoor living. New York, G. W. Stewart [c1941].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7110 .G6

Architecture des Jardins. Circa 1800. Paris.

no

 

 

Louden, J.C.: The Landscape Gardening & Landscape Architecture. 1840, London.

 

 

 

William Shenstone: The Works. Circa 1770, London. 3 Volumes

no

 

 

Ligir, L.: La Jardiniere Fleuaiste. 1811, Avignon.

no

 

 

Downing, A. J.: Cottage Residences. 1865, New York.

no

 

 

Graham, D. (1938). Chinese gardens: gardens of the contemporary scene; an account of their design and symbolism. New York, Dodd, Mead & company, 1938.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466 .C5 .G7

The Monograph Series. Volumes 13 and 14. 1927-28. New York

no

 

 

Wharton, Edith: Italian Villas and Their gardens. 1910

no

 

 

Usui, K. (1900). Historical gardens in Kyoto. [S.n. : s.l., n.d.].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.J32 K895

Fouquier, M. (1911). De l'art des jardins du XVe au XXe siècle. Paris, E. Paul, 1911.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB451.F7f

Udall, S. L. (1967). The Potomac : a report on its imperiled future and a guide for its orderly development. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., 1967.

yes

Moon Library Books

HT393.P6 P86

Briggs, Loutrel W.: Charleston Gardens. 1951, University of Southern Carolina Press, Columbia Excellent

no

 

 

La Gazette illustrée des amateurs de jardins. (1913). Paris : [s.n.], 1913-.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB469 .G38

Sudell, R. (1937). The new illustrated gardening encyclopedia. New York, C. Scribner's sons, 1937.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB45 .S8 1937

Chateaux & manoirs de France .. (1934). Paris, Vincent, Fréal et cie., 1934-.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7735 .C48 v.6

Le Moyne, L. V. (1921). Country residences in Europe and America. New York, Putnam 1921.

Yes

Moon Library Books - Oversize

NA7600 .L55 1921

Major, H. (1926). The domestic architecture of the early American republic : the Greek revival. Philadelphia; London : J.B. Lippincott Company, 1926.

yes

Moon Library Books

NA7207 .M3 1926

Kelly, Frederick: Early Architecture of Connecticu. 1963. New York

no

 

 

East, A. S. (1914). Brush and pencil notes in landscape, thirty reproductions from water-colour sketches, and twenty-nine from sketches in pencil;. London, Cassell, 1914.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

ND1341 .E1

Kimball, F. (1966). Domestic architecture of the American colonies and of the early Republic. New York, Dover Publications [1966, c1922].

yes

Moon Library Books

NA707 .K45 1966

Geikie, A. (1905). Landscape in history and other essays. London, New York, Macmillan and co., limited, 1905.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QE35 .G27

Audot, L. (1839). Traité de la composition et de l'ornement des jardins : avec cent soixante et une planches, représentant ... des plans de jardins, des fabriques propres a leur décoration, et des machines pour élever les eaux ; ouvrage faisant suite a l'Almanach du bon jardinier. Paris : Audot, 1839.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .A83 1839

Lexington Leaflets. 1941-1949

no

 

 

Wilson, Andrew; Insects and their control. 1931, Plainfield, N.J.

no

 

 

Hamlin, T., & Hamlin, S. S. (1944). Greek revival architecture in America. New York, Dover, [1964, c1944].

yes

Moon Library Books

NA707 .H32

Sale, E. T. (1923). Historic gardens of Virginia. Richmond, Va., William Byrd press [1923].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

F227 .J29 1923

La Gazette illustrée des amateurs de jardins. (1913). Paris : [s.n.], 1913-.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB469 .G38

Thomas, W. G., & Fallon, J. T. (1928). Northern Italian details : drawings and photographs by Walter G. Thomas and John T. Fallon; with an introduction by John Mead Howells. New York : Scientific Book Corp., 1928.

yes

Moon Library Books

Moon Library Special Collections

NA1111 .T5 1928

NA1111 .T5 1928

The romance of Chinese Art: by holson, R.L.: Oswald, Siren: Benjamin March: Laurance Binyon: E.F. Strange: Jiro Harade: Charles R. Kelly; A.F. Kendrick: George Kunz: Carl W. Bishop: Kijiro Tomita: Warren E. Cox 1936, New York

No

 

 

Loo, C.T. & Co,: An Exhibition of Chinese Bronzes1939, New York

no

 

 

Loo, C.T. & Co,: An Exhibition of Chinese stone sculptures1939, New York

no

 

 

Lierre,; Union des Villes et Communes Belges, 1921. Paris

 

 

 

Ferrari, Guilio: il ferro nel-arte italiana, 1921, Milano

no

 

 

Le jardin .. (1932). [Paris, 1932].

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB472 .I4F

Martinie, H.; La Ferronnerie 1925, Paris

no

 

 

Townsend, Reginald T.: The Book of Gardens and Gardening 1924. New York

no

 

 

Boggs, K. D. (1932). Prints and plants of old gardens. Richmond, Va., Garrett & Massie [c1932].

yes

Moon Library - Oversize

SB465 .B6

The book of the boston architectural club 1930, Boston

no

 

 

Heft, Erster: indeenmagazin fur liebhader von vesitzer von langutern. 2 volumes. 1797, Liepzig

no

 

 

Goodwin, P. L., & Milliken, H. O. (1924). French provincial architecture: as shown in various examples of town & country houses, shops & public places adaptable to American condition. Paris : Contet, 1924.

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA1041 .G6 1924F

The famous parks and gardens of the world described and illustrated. (1880). London, T. Nelson, 1880.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB451 .F2

Gréber, J. (1937). Jardins modernes. [Paris] C. Moreau [1937].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

T 805 1937 .H1 J3F

Duchêne, A. (1935). Les jardins de l'avenir; hier, aujourd'hui, demain. Paris, Vincent, Fréal & cie, 1935.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB461 .D83F

Biltmore Nursery: Biltmore Roses1916, Biltmore, North Carolina

no

 

 

Lee, Guy H. Japanese Gardens 1935. Boston

no

 

 

Springar, J.E.: The large flowered clematis hybrids. 1934. Magazine, New York

no

 

 

Péan, P. (1920). Le nouveau jardiniste moderne. Paris, Libraire de la construction moderne, 1929.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB472 .P436

Wilder, L. B. (1918). Colour in my garden. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, Page, 1918.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB454 .W6

Gromort, Georges: Frances Compositios executes 1925, Paris. Deuxieme Edition

no

 

 

Symonds, M. (1893). Days spent on a doge's farm. London : T.F. Unwin, 1893.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

DG975.P13 S8 1893

Chandler, Joseph E.: the Colonial Houses 1924. New York

no

 

 

Rohde, E. S. (1921). A garden of herbs. London ; Boston : P. L. Warner, Publisher to the Medici Society, [1921].

yes

Moon Library Books

QK99 .R6 1921

Earle, Alice Morse: Home life in colonial days. 1917, New York

No

 

 

Webster, Helen Noyes: Herbs. 1939, Lexington, Mass. 2nd edition

No

 

 

Rohde, E. S. (1931). The scented garden. Boston : Hale, Cushman & Flint, [1931].

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .R73

Beauty from Bulbs 1926, New York

no

 

 

Earle, Alice Morse: Home life in colonial days. 1898, New York

no

 

 

Next page

Citation

One search

Location

Call number

Ortloff, H. S., & Raymore, H. B. (1932). Garden maintenance. New York, The Macmillan company, 1932.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB453 .O7

Jekyll, G. (1914). Colour schemes for the flower garden. London, "Country life", ltd. [etc.]; New York, C. Scribner's sons, 1914.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .J35 1914

Lexington leaflets.2 volumes, 1936 Lexington, Mass.

no

 

 

Crane, Walter: The bases of design, 1898, London.

No

 

 

Binyon, Laurence: The spirit of man in Asian art 1935, Cambridge, Mass.

No

 

 

Meyer, Franz Sales: a handbook of ornament circa 1925, London, 3rd English edition

No

 

 

Rimmer, W.: elements of Design 1879, Boston

No

 

 

Sedding, J. D., & Russell, E. 1. (1895). Garden-craft old and new. London, K. Paul, Trench, Trübner, 1895.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB455 .S4

Duryea, M. M. (1923). Gardens in and about town. New York, E. P. Dutton & company [c1923].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB454 .D8

Lloyd, N. (1925). A history of English brickwork, with examples and notes of the architectural use and manipulation of brick from mediaeval times to the end of the Georgian period. London, H. G. Montgomery; New York, W. Helburn, inc., 1925.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA4120 .L75 1925

Twopenny, William: English Metal Work 1904, London.

no

 

 

Badovici, Jean: L’architecture vivanti 1924, Paris

no

 

 

Averill, M. (1915). The flower art of Japan. New York : John Lane Company; London : John Lane, 1915.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB449 .A7 1915

Geachino & Beukena: American Technical society’s drafting. 1940, Chicago

no

 

 

Switzer, S. (1729). An introduction to a general system of hydrostaticks and hydraulicks, philosophical and practical. Wherein the most reasonable and advantageous methods of raising and conducting water, for the watering noblemens and gentlemens seats, buildings, gardens, &c., are carefully (and in a manner not yet publish'd in any language) laid down ... Illustrated and explain'd by sixty copper cuts, done by the best hands ... Collected from the best of the Italian and French designs (together with some new ones of the author's own invention) .. London, T. Astley [etc.] 1729.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QC144 .S9

Leblond, Alexander: The Theory and Practice of Gardening 1728, London.

No

 

 

Catalog by Tompkins-kief. Marble Company 1933, New York

No

 

 

McFarland, J. H. (1936). Roses of the world in color. Boston and New York, Houghton Mifflin Company [1936].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB411 .M325

american joint committee on Horticultural Nomenclature: Standardized plant names 1942, Harrisburg, Pa. 2nd edition

no

 

 

Jekyll, Gertrude: Wall & water gardens 1920, London. 6th edition

Revised version only

Moon Library Books

SB454 .J3 1983

Bailey, L. H. (1914). Manual of gardening : a practical guide to the making of home grounds and the growing of flowers, fruits, and vegetables for home use. New York : The Macmillan company, 1914.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .B3 1914

Farrer, R. (1922). The English rock-garden. London : T.C. & E.C. Jack, 1922.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB421 .F25 1922 v.1

SB421 .F25 1922 v.2

Ballard, Ernesta Drinker: Garden in your house 1958, New York

No

 

 

Wilder, L. B. (1916). My garden. Garden City, N. Y., Doubleday, Page & company, [c1916].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB453 .W48

Thomas, G. C. (1916). The practical book of outdoor rose growing for the home garden. Philadelphia and London, J.B. Lippincott company, 1916.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB411 .T47 1916

Waugh, Frank A.: Outdoor Theaters 1917, Boston

no

 

 

Corpechot, L. (1937). Parcs et jardins de France. (Les jardins de l'intelligence). Paris, Édition d'histoire et d'art, Librairie Plon [1937].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466 .F7 .C6 1937

Matthews, W. H. (1922). Mazes and labyrinths; a general account of their history and developments. London, New York, etc. Longmans, Green and co., 1922.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB475 .M3

Powell, F. L. (1943). In the Chinese garden, a photographic tour of the complete Chinese garden, with text explaining its symbolism, as seen in the Liu Yuan (the Liu garden) and the Shih tzu lin (the Forest of lions), two famous Chinese gardens in the city of Soochow, Kiangsu province, China. New York, The John Day company [1943].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.C5 P6

Nichols, R. S. (1924). Spanish & Portuguese gardens. Boston and New York, Houghton Mifflin company, 1924.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB466.S7 N5

Sudell, R. (1933). Landscape gardening; planning, construction, planting. London, Melbourne, Ward, Lock & co., limited [1933].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB469.4.A2 S9

Wilder, L. B. (1932). The fragrant path; a book about sweet scented flowers and leaves. New York, The Macmillan company, 1932.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB454 .W63

Fernald, M. L., & Kinsey, A. C. (1943). Edible wild plants of eastern North America. Cornwall-on-Hudson, N.Y. Idlewild press [c1943].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QK98.5 .F4

Eliot, C. W. (1903). Charles Eliot, landscape architect; a lover of nature and of his kind, who trained himself for a new profession, practised it happily and through it wrought much good. Boston and New York, Houghton, Mifflin and company, 1903 [c1902].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB470.E6 E6 1902

Scheepers, John: Beauty from bulbs 1931, new York

no

 

 

Morse, H. K. (1939). Gardening in the shade; planting the shaded garden with shrubs and herbaceous perennials. New York, C. Scribner's sons; London, C. Scribner's sons, ltd., 1939.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB454 .M88

Schabol, J. R. (1772). La pratique du jardinage : par M. l'abbe ́Roger Schabol. Paris, Debure pere, 1772.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .S3

Matoon, H. Gleason:Plant buyer’s guide 1958, Boston 6th edition

no

 

 

Waters, C. E. (1903). Ferns; a manual for the northeastern states, with analytical keys based on the stalks and on the fructification. New York, H. Holt and company, 1903.

yes

Moon Library Books

QK525 .W32

The monograph series. Volumes 15 and 16. 1931, New York

No

 

 

Vallance, A. (1920). Old crosses and lychgates. London, B. T. Batsford, ltd. [1920].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

CC310 .V3

Rice, D. T. (1947). Russian icons. London : King Penguin Book, 1947.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

N7956 .R5

King, L. Y. (1921). The little garden. Boston : Atlantic Monthly Press, [c1921].

Yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .K3 1921

King, F. M. (1923). Variety in the little garden. Boston, The Atlantic monthly press [c1923].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .K46

Brewster, Kate l.: The little garden for little money. 1924, Boston

no

 

 

New York State Museum Memoir 15: wild flowers of new York. 2 volumes. 1919, New York

No

 

 

Wybo, G. (1918). Réflexions et croquis sur l'architecture au pays de France. Paris, Hachette & cie, 1918.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA1041 .W8

Seymour, E. D. (1946). The new garden encyclopedia; a complete, practical and convenient guide to every detail of gardening, including special supplement on Gardening for the small home. Illustrated with 250 halftones and more than 500 line drawings made expressly for this work. New York, W. H. Wise, 1946.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB45 .S4 1946

Preece, W. A. (1937). North American rock plants. (First series). New York, The Macmillan company, 1937.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB421 .P7

Farrer, Reginala: The rock garden, 1937, New York

no

 

 

Jekyll, G. (1916). Annuals & biennials, the best annual and biennial plants and their uses in the garden. London, Country Life; New York, Scribner [1916].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB405 .J4

Steffek, E. F., & Farrington, E. I. (1967). The gardener's almanac of timely hints for home gardeners. [Boston] Massachusetts Horticultural Society [c1967].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .S68 1967

Royal Academy of Arts: Chinese Art 1955, London, Catalogue

no

 

 

Fouche, Maurice: Percies et Fontaine Paris, circa 1921.

no

 

 

Tabor, G. (1913). Old-fashioned gardening; a history and a reconstruction. New York, McBride, Nast & company, 1913.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB453 .T28

Pratt, D., & Pratt, R. (1956). A guide to early American homes. New York : Bonanza Books, c1956.

yes

Moon Library Books

NA7206 .P91

Next page

Citation

One search

Location

Call number

Isham, Norman Morrison: Early American Homes 1928, Boston

no

 

 

Earle, A. M. (1902). Sun dials and roses of yesterday; garden delights which are here displayed in every truth and are moreover regarded as emblems. New York, The Macmillan Co.; London, Macmillan & Co., ltd., 1902.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QB215 .E12

Massie, S. W., & Christian, F. A. (1931). Homes and gardens in old Virginia. Richmond : Garrett & Massie, t.p. 1932, c1931.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.U65 .V53 1932

Hammond, J. M.; Colonial mansions of Maryland and Delaware, 1914. Philadelphia

no

 

 

Blanchan, N., & Barron, L. (1909). The American flower garden. New York : Doubleday, Page & Company, 1909.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .D6 1909

Stuart, E. M. Villiers: Gardens of the great maghals 1913, London

no

 

 

Findlay, H. (1926). Garden making and keeping. Garden City, N. Y., Doubleday, Page & company, 1926.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .F5

Priego, J. M.: Jardeneria general y espanola 1925, Madrid

no

 

 

Hill, A. G. (1938). Forty years of gardening. New York, Frederick A. Stokes company, 1938.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .H652

Du Cane, Florence: the flowers and gardens of japan 1908, London

no

 

 

Paley, F.A.: a manual of gothic moldings 1877, London

no

 

 

Beaumont, A. B. (1943). Artificial manures; or, The conservation and use of organic matter for soil improvement. New York, Orange Judd publishing company, inc., 1943.

yes

Moon Library Books

S661 .B4

Ortloff, H. S. (1931). A garden bluebook of annuals and biennials. [New York] Published by Doubleday, Doran & company, inc., for N. Doubleday, inc., 1931.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB405 .O7 1931

Keeler, H. L. (1910). Our garden flowers; : a popular study of their native lands, their life histories, and their structural affiliations. New York, : C. Scribner's Sons, 1910.

yes

Moon Library Books

In process

Vercier, B. (1932). La culture des fleurs, plantes de jardins et d'appartements. Paris, Hachette [c1932].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB406 .V4

Vercier, J. (1926). Arboriculture fruitière. Paris : Librarie Hachette, [n.d.].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB357 .V4

Landret, George W.: Johnsons dictionary of gardening 1847, Philadelphia

no

 

 

Bailey, L. H. (1920). The nursery manual; a complete guide to the multiplication of plants. New York, The Macmillan co., 1920.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB119 .B15 1920a

Agar, M. (1912). Garden design in theory and practice. Philadelphia, J.B. Lippincott Company; [etc.] 1912.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB454 .A45

Eden H.K.F. & Lloyd E.: the book of sun dials 1890, London. 3rd edition

no

 

 

Eliot, Charles; landscape architecture 1902, Cambridge mass. Vol. 2

no

 

 

Hills, L. D. (1950). The propagation of alpines. Line drawings by Maurice Wilson. London, Faber and Faber [1950].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB421 .H52 1950

Miller, William: dictionary of English names of plants 1884, London

No

 

 

Jekyll, G. (1899). Wood and garden; notes and thoughts, practical and critical, of a working amateu. London, New York, Longmans, Green, 1899.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .J5 1899

Smith, T. (n.d). The book of dry-wall gardens. London : Headley Brothers, [n.d.].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB459 .S65

Fletcher, H. V. (1951). The water garden. London, Lehmann [1951].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB423 .F55

Michaux, F Andrew: north American sylva. 3 volumes.1853, Philadelphia

no

 

 

Westcott, C. (1964). The gardener's bug book. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1964.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB931 .W52 1964

Dodge, Bernard O., Rickett, Harold W.: Diseases and pests in ornamental plants 1948, New York

no

 

 

Dempsey, P. W., & Burrage, A. C. (1943). Grow your own vegetables. Boston, Houghton Miffin company, 1943.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB321 .D4 1943

Faure, G., Kemp, F., & Vignal, P. L. (1924). The gardens of Rome. New York, Brentano's Inc., 1924.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.I9 R6

Corrado, Ricci: baroque architecture and sculpture in Italy 1912, New York

no

 

 

Ward, C. (1912). Royal gardens. London, New York, Longmans, Green, 1912.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.G8 R6 1912

Schmidt, C. F. (1963). Fences, gates, and garden houses. Rochester, N.Y., 1963.

yes

Moon Library Books

NA8390 .S3

Sommer- und Ferienhäuser der "Woche". 19. Sonderheft der "Woche". (1911). Berlin, A. Scherl [1911].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7564 .W63 1911

Eberlein, H. D. (1922). Villas of Florence and Tuscany. Philadelphia, London, J. B. Lippincott Company, 1922, 1925.

yes

Moon Library Books

NA7594 .E3

Hielscher, K. (1925). Picturesque Italy; architecture and landscape. New York, Bretano's [1925].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

DG420 .H5

Weaver, Lawernce: English Leadwork 1909, London,

no

 

 

american society of landscape architecture 1931, Boston

no

 

 

Van Pelt, John V.: the essentials of composition as applied to art 1913, Norwood, Mass.

no

 

 

Chapple, Fred J.: The Heather Gardens 1952, New York

no

 

 

Stopes, M. C.; botany - the modern study of plants 1905, Circa, London

no

 

 

Walpole, H., & Lewis, W. S. (1931). On modern gardening; an essay by Horace Walpole. New York, Young Books, Inc., 1931.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB471 .W3

Drewitt, F. Dawtrey: the romance of the apothecaries garden at Chelsea 1928, Cambridge, Mass. 3rd edition

no

 

 

Filton, S.: Gleamings on Gardens 1897, London.

no

 

 

Powell, A.B.; the Garden 1789, London

no

 

 

Belcher, John & McCartney, Mervyn: later renaissance architecture in England 1901, London. 2 volumes

no

 

 

Garner, Thomas & Stratton, Thomas: the domestic architecture of England 1911  London, 1st edition 1929 London, 2nd edition

no

 

 

Wen, Z., Kerby, K., & Chung, M. Z. (1923). An old Chinese garden; a three-fold masterpiece of poetry, calligraphy and painting. Shanghai, Chung Hwa book company [1923?].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

ND1049.W4 A3

Ricanti, T. J.: sketches for rustic work 1848, London

no

 

 

Ditchfield, P.H.: english cottages and their doorway gardens 1905, Philadelphia.

no

 

 

Lowell, Guy: American Gardens 1902, Boston

no

 

 

Marrast, J. (1926). Jardins. Paris : Ch. Moreau, c1926.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.F7 M3F

The Atlantic Monthly Co. The House Beautiful Building Annual 1955, Boston.

no

 

 

House & Garden: house and gardens book of gardens 1921, New York

no

 

 

Boston Architectural Club: City Club Galleries 1915, Boston

no

 

 

Small, Turstall 7 Woodbridge, Christopher: English Wrought Ironwork Circa 1929, London

no

 

 

Krafft, J. C. (1876). Maisons de campagne : plans et décorations de parcs et jardins franc̦ais, anglais et allemands. Paris : A. Morel et Cie, 1876.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7563 .K7 1876

Langley, B. (1729). Pomona: or, The fruit-garden illustrated. Containing sure methods for improving all the best kinds of fruits now extant in England. Calculated from great variety of experiments made in all kinds of soils and aspects. Wherein the manner of raising young stocks, grafting, inoculating, planting, &c. are clearly and fully demonstrated ... Likewise several practical observations on the imbibing power and perspirations of fruit-trees; the several effects of heat and moisture tending to the growth and maturity of fruits. To which is added, a curious account of the most valuable cyderfruits of Devonshire. The whole illustrated with above three hundred drawings of the several fruits, curiously engraven on seventy-nine large folio plates. London, G. Strahan, 1729.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB361 .L28F

Chambers, W. S. (1763). Plans, elevations, sections, and perspective views of the gardens and buildings at Kew, in Surry .. London, Printed by J. Haberkorn; pub. for the author [etc.] 1763.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7746.K4 C4F

Murphy, Bailey S.: English and Scottish Wrought ironwork 1904, London

no

 

 

Vivian, G., & Harding, J. D. (1848). Views from the gardens of Rome and Albano. London : Thomas M'Lean, 1848.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB91 .A2 V58 1848

Scheult, F. L. (1821). Recueil d'architecture dessinée et mesurée en Italie, dans les annees 1791, 92 et 93. Paris : Chez Bance Ainé, 1821.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA1116 .S45 1821

Battista, Gio: Li Giardini Di Roma Circa 1904, Rome

no

 

 

Bac, F. F. (1925). Jardins enchantés; un romancero. Paris : L. Conard, 1925.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

PN56.G3 B33

Forestier, J.C.N.: Gardens 1928, New York

no

 

 

Tipping, H. A. (1925). English gardens. London, Country life, ltd.; New York, C. Scribner's sons, 1925.

yes

Moon Library Books - Oversize

SB466.G7 T59

Luytens, L.: Houses and Gardens 1914, London

no

 

 

Coats, P. (1963). Great gardens of the Western World. New York, Putnam [1963].

yes

Moon Library Books - Oversize

SB465 .C65

Reskin, John: Lectures on Landscaping 1897, London

no

 

 

Small, J.W.: Scottish Market Crosses 1900, Glasgow

no

 

 

Nicolai, H. G. (1882). Das Ornament der italienischen Kunst des XV. Jahrhunderts : eine Sammlung der Hervorragendsten Motive. Dresden : Gilbers'sche Königl. Hofverlagsbuchhandlung (Bleyl & Kaemmerer), 1882.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA3553.A1 N5F 1882

Kent, Rockwell: Wilderness 1943, New York

no

 

 

Next page

Citation

One search

Location

Call number

Portflio #2, Misc., Pictures, photos & Sketches Circa 1905, New York

no

 

 

Ricciuti, Italo William: New Orleans and its Environs 1938, New York

no

 

 

House & garden. (1901). [New York, etc., Condâe Nast Publications, etc.],.

yes

Moon Library Periodicals

H685 v.2 1902

H685 v.3 1903

H685 v.4 1904

H685 v.9 1909

Loose leaf folder of various post cards and clippings of European gardens and country side

no

 

 

Arboretum, Arnold: Arnoldia 1950, Jamaica Plain, Mass.

no

 

 

Lorette, Louise: The Lorette system of pruning 1932, London

no

 

 

Robison: The subtropical garden 1879, London. 2nd edition

no

 

 

Hume, H. Harold: Azaleas, Kinds and culture 1949, New York

no

 

 

Ditchfield, P.H.: The charm of the English village 1908, London

No

 

 

Pückler-Muskau, H. v., Sickert, B., & Parsons, S. (1917). Hints on landscape gardening. Boston, New York, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1917.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB471 .P85

Repton, H., & Nolen, J. (1907). The art of landscape gardening. Boston, New York, Houghton, Mifflin and company, 1907.

yes

Moon Library Books

SB471 .R46

Whitehead, Fuffell: The white pine Vol. 1 to 12 complete. 1918, New York

no

 

 

Lee, F. P. (1958). The azalea book. Princeton, N.J., Van Nostrand [1958].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB413.A9 L4 1958

Hume, H. H. (1953). Hollies. New York, Macmillan, 1953.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB435.5.H6 H8

Kordes, W. J. (1964). Roses. New York, Reinhold Pub. Corp. [1964].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB411 .K613

Aiken, George D.: Pioneering with wildflowers 1935, Rochester, New York

no

 

 

Van Melle, P. J. (1943). Shrubs and trees for the small place; hardy deciduous materials for the home grounds. New York, C. Scribner's sons, 1943.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB435 .V35

Dybowski, J. (1899). Guide de jardinage .. Paris : C. Marpon et E. Flammarion, [1899].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .D9 1899

Lawrence, W. C., & Newell, J. (1950). Seed and potting composts with special reference to soil sterilization. London : G. Allen & Unwin ltd., [1950].

yes

Moon Library Books

S598 .L3 1950

Ferrari, G. (1925). L'architettura rusticana nell' arte italiana. Dalle capanne alla casa medievale;. Milano, U. Hoepli; New York, William Helburn, inc. [1925].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7355 .F4

Sidorow, alexys: Moskau 1930, Berlin

no

 

 

Bowlers, Clement G.: Rhododendrons and azaleas 1936, New York

no

 

 

Boyd, James: Peonies 1928, New York

no

 

 

Marshall, W. E. (1929). Consider the lilies. New York, W.E. Marshall [1929].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB413.L7 M3 1929

Jellicoe, G. (1937). Gardens of Europe. London and Glasgow, Blackie & son limited [1937].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB465 .J4

Garden Guide: The amateur gardeners handbook 1920, New York. 4th edition

no

 

 

McFarland: modern Roses IV 1952, Harrisburg, Pa.

no

 

 

Sawyer, R. V., & Perkins, E. H. (1928). Water gardens and goldfish. New York, A. T. De La Mare company, inc., 1928.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB423 .S3

Otten, G. (1935). Tuberous-rooted begonias and their culture. New York, N. Y., A. T. De La Mare company inc., 1935.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB413 .B408

Des Cars, A. (1906). A treatise on pruning forest and ornamental trees. Boston, The Society, 1906.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SD407 .D45 1906

Jekyll, Gertrude: Home & Garden 1900, Boston.

no

 

 

Foote, Harriett Risley: Mrs. Foote’s Rose Book 1948, Boston.

no

 

 

Burrage, Albert C.: The Twenty minute a day Garden 1943, Boston.

no

 

 

Colasanti, A. (1926). Le fontane d'Italia. Milano, Roma, Bestetti e Tumminelli, 1926.

yes

Moon Library Books - Oversize

NA9413.I8 C68

Ricci, Corrado: Romanesque Architecture in Italy 1925, London

no

 

 

Siren, oxwald: The Imperial Palaces of Peking Volumes 2 and 3. 1926, Paris

no

 

 

Fletcher, S. W. (1906). How to make a fruit garden; a practical and suggestive manual for the home garden. New York, Doubleday, Page & company, 1906.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB355 .F6

Conder, J. (1893). Landscape gardening in Japan. Tokio, Kelly and Walsh, 1893.

yes

Moon Library - Books

SB477.J2 C6

Johnson, G. W. (1829). A history of English gardening, chronological, biographical, literary, and critical. Tracing the progress of the art in this country from the invasion of the Romans to the present time. London, Baldwin & Cradock [etc.] 1829.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB451 .J7

Louden, J.: Observation, Theory and practice of landscape gardening 1804, Edinburgh

no

 

 

Taylor, N. (1928). A guide to the wild flowers east of the Mississippi and north of Virginia. Garden City, N. Y., Garden City Pub. Co. [c1928].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QK118 .T3

Godard, Octave: jardins de la cote d'azur 1927, Paris

no

 

 

Godard, Octave: les anciens chateaux de france Circa 1927, paris

no

 

 

Levy, Albert:  perertoire du gout moderne 1929, Paris

no

 

 

Vaillat, L., & Ventre, A. (1917). La maison des pays de France; les provinces dévastées: Flandre, Artois, Picardie, Ile-de-France, Champagne, Lorraine, Alsace. Paris, E. Flammarion, [1917?].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA7346 .V3

Vera, A. (1912). Le nouveau jardin. Paris : Émile-Paul, [1912?].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.F8 V4

Moreau, Charles: maisons d'habitations 1921, Paris

no

 

 

Moreau, Charles: terrasses et jardins 1921, Paris

No

 

 

King, F. M. (1927). The beginner's garden. New York, London, C. Scribner's Sons, 1927.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .K23

Misc. Photographs

 

 

 

Henslow, T. W. (1914). Ye sundial booke. London, J. J. Keliher & co., ltd. 1914.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

QB215 .H4 1914

Plaw, John: Ferme Ornee: or Rural Improvements 1895, London

no

 

 

Macartney, M. E. (1909). The practical exemplar of architecture, being measured drawings & photographs of examples of architectural details. Westminster [London] Technical journals [1909-.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA2841 .M28

Burns, Robert Scott: The illustrated drawing book London

no

 

 

Mayer, Ralph: The artist’s handbook 1943, New York

no

 

 

Nichols, H. L. (1957). Machinery around your country home. Greenwich, Conn., North Castle [1957].

yes

Moon Library Books

S675 .N5

Fletcher Steele’s record books. 3 volumes

no

 

 

Laker, Russel; Anatomy of Lettering 1947, New York

no

 

 

King, F. M., & Fothergill, J. (1929). The gardener's colour book. New York, A. A. Knopf, 1929.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB453 .K27

SB453 .K27 c.2

Davis, Gerald S.: Renascence tombs of Rome 1910, London

no

 

 

Platt, C. A. (1894). Italian gardens. New York, Harper & Brothers, 1894.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.I8 P6

Briggs, Martin Shaw: Baroque Architecture 1913, London

no

 

 

Place, Charles A.: Charles Bullfinch Architect and citizen 1925, Boston

no

 

 

Fernald, George Porter: Sicily 1919, Boston

no

 

 

Munchen, georgmuller Verlag: russuche baukunst 1922, Berlin

no

 

 

The art bulletin: An illustrated quarterly volume 12 #4 Dec. 1930, Chicago

no

 

 

Architectural league of New York 1933 48th annual exhibit

no

 

 

Morley, G. (1937). Contemporary landscape architecture and its sources; [exhibition] San Francisco museum of art, February 12-March 22, 1937. [San Francisco? San Francisco museum of art, c1937].

yes

Moon Library Books

Moon Library Special Collections

SB472 .S3

SB472 .S3

Grimme, K. M., & Esch, A. (1931). Gärten von Albert Esch. Wien : Michael Winkler, 1931.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB470.E844 G75 1931

Henrici, K. (1893). Preisgekrönter konkurrenzentwurf zu der stadterweiterung Münchens. München, L. Werner, 1893.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

NA9200.M9 H5 1893

Colonial gardens; the landscape architecture of George Washington's time. (1932). Washington, D. C., United States George Washington Bicentennial Commission [1932].

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB466.U6 .A6

McNamara, K. (1934). Landscape architecture; a classified bibliography, with an author index. Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University, School of Landscape Architecture, 1934.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

Z5996.A1 M2

Dempsey, P. W., & Burrage, A. C. (1943). Grow your own vegetables. Boston, Houghton Miffin company, 1943.

yes

Moon Library Special Collections

SB321 .D4 1943

Villiers-Stuart, C. M. (1929). Spanish gardens; their history, types and features. London, B. T. Batsford ltd. [1929].

yes

Moon Library Books

SB466.S7 .V5

Von Erdberg, E., & Pond, B. W. (1936). Chinese influence on European garden structures. Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University Press, 1936.

yes

Moon Library Books

NA8450 .C75