Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fletcher Steele - Landscape Architect: Postcard Collection

Jane Verostek - Associate Librarian at SUNY ESF created this guide to provide information about landscape architect Fletcher Steele. The SUNY ESF Archives and Special Collections contains the personal and business archives of Steele.

Steele's Postcard Collection

Fletcher Steele's Postcard Collection

Fletcher Steele's postcard collection is arranged as we received it with Steele's original hand written divider tabs noting the different locations he visited and/or that he received postcards from. Many of the gardens Steele designed in the United States were influenced by what he saw in his travels. Postcards in his collection include real-photo postcards along with standard mass produced postcards. Some postcards Steele purchased to remember a certain location, garden, architectural detail, etc. and some postcards are ones Steele received. There are 10 boxes of postcards.When possible the year or year ranges have been noted.

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 1

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

1

Spain

Valladolid

1

 

 

1

Spain

-

1

5

1928

1

Spain

Alqeciras

 

10

1936

1

Spain

Barcelona

4

3

1928-1929

1

Spain

Barcelona

 

2

1929-1930

1

Spain

Barcelona – El Laberinto

 

18

1936

1

Spain

Barcelona – Cathedral

 

4

 

1

Spain

Cordova

3

Book of 24

6 individual

1929-1930

1

Spain

Cordova – Cathedral mosque

4

3

1922

1

Spain

Cordova Patio

1

15

 

1

Spain

Cordova - Viana

1

12

 

1

Spain

Granada

6

5

 

1

Spain

Granada – Acosta

 

5

 

1

Spain

Granada - Albaicin

2

 

 

1

Spain

Granada – Alhambra

33

23

 

1

Spain

Granada – Generalife

15

34

1956

1

Spain

Jerez

 

11

1936

1

Spain

Madrid

 

3

 

1

Spain

Malaga

 

8

 

1

Spain

Malaga – El suspiro – Loring

 

7

 

1

Spain

Malaga - El Retiro

 

16

 

1

Spain

San Jose

 

 

 

1

Spain

Mallorca

9

1

1936

1

Spain

Mallorca – Palma

14

20

1930

1

Spain

Mallorca  - Pollensa

4

3

1936

1

Spain

Mallorca – El Terreno

 

2

 

1

Spain

Alfabia

 

 

 

1

Spain

Mallorca  - Camp de Mar

 

1

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – Galatzo

 

3

1932

1

Spain

Mallorca – La Granja

6

5

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – Inca

 

1

 

1

Spain

Mallorca - Raxa

 

22

1936

1

Spain

Mallorca – Sarria

 

 

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – Geuova – San Batle

1

3

1930 - 1936

1

Spain

Mallorca – San Berga

 

6

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – San Ponza

 

6

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – Valdemosa

1

1

 

1

Spain

Mallorca – Ronda

5

64

1936

1

Spain

Seville

3

62

1922 - 1926

1

Spain

Mallorca – Raxa

 

2

 

1

Spain

Seville – Murillo

 

11

 

1

Spain

Seville – Museo

 

7

 

1

Spain

Seville – Sanchez Dalp

 

4

 

1

Spain

Seville – Viriato

 

4

 

1

Spain

Toledo

6

1

 

1

Spain

Valencia

5

9

 

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 2

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

2

France

Poissy

12

11

1916 - 1965

2

France

Gardens

4

14

1929 - 1953

2

France

Albi

 

2

1928

2

France

Amboise

2

 

 

2

France

Amiens

2

3

1929

2

France

Arles

3

1

1909

2

France

Avignon

2

 

1920

2

France

Azay-le-Rideau

2

3

 

2

France

Beauvais

2

 

 

2

France

Blois

3

1

 

2

France

Bourges

 

10

1929

2

France

Brecourt

 

36

 

2

France

Breteuil

 

1

 

2

France

Cannes

 

1

 

2

France

Carcassonne

2

 

1922

2

France

Chantilly

5

9

 

2

France

Charost

 

9

1929

2

France

Chenonceaux

4

 

 

2

France

Chateau Cheverny

2

 

 

2

France

Compiegne

3

2

 

2

France

Dampierre

 

3

 

2

France

Enghien

 

6

1929

2

France

Fontainebleau

15

8

1929 - 1931

2

France

Givernay

 

2

 

2

France

La Grange Chateau

1

5

 

2

France

Langeais

1

 

 

2

France

Lourdes

1

 

 

2

France

Lude

1

2

 

2

France

Maintenon Chateau

1

 

 

2

France

Marly

 

3

 

2

France

Mont St. Michel

3

 

1949

2

France

Nancy

17

 

 

2

France

Nes le la vallee

 

8

 

2

France

Nimes

6

 

 

2

France

Paris

65

32

1929 - 1961

2

France

Paris - Luxembourg

16

9

 

2

France

Buttes – Chaumont

5

16

1929

2

France

Pierrefonds

5

 

 

2

France

Poitiers

6

 

 

2

France

Pontoise

 

16

1929

2

France

Provins

1

2

 

2

France

La Puy

2

 

1920

2

France

Rambouillet

8

8

1929

2

France

Rheims

2

 

1920

2

France

Rocomadour

11

2

 

2

France

Rolleboise

 

1

 

2

France

Rouen

4

1

1921

2

France

Sceaux

 

2

 

2

France

Senlis

1

2

1929

2

France

Sevres

 

6

1929

2

France

Soissons

2

 

1921

2

France

Strassburg

2

 

 

2

France

St. Cloud

6

 

1922

2

France

St. Germain

1

 

 

2

France

Tessaucourt

1

2

1929

2

France

Tours

1

1

1929

2

France

Vaux Le Vicompte Chateau

6

12

 

2

France

Versailles

 

41

1924 - 1929

2

France

Versailles Chateaux

59

34

1913-1933

2

France

Versailles - Trkanon

14

2

1913 - 1928

2

France

Chateau Villandry

3

 

 

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 3

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

3

Thailand

 

1

 

 

3

Turkey

 

9

25

1929

3

West Indies & Central America

 

5

32

1954 - 1959

3

Guatemala

 

6

 

1948

3

Switzerland

 

7

2

1909 - 1949

3

Sweden

 

6

7

1952

3

Sweden

Grenna

5

5

 

3

Sweden

Halmstadt

 

7

 

3

Sweden

Linkoping

 

24

 

3

Sweden

Saltsjobaden

2

5

 

3

Sweden

Stockholm

32

41

 

3

Sweden

Engelbrekiskyrkan

17

6

 

3

Sweden

Stockholm – City Hall

29

9

 

3

Sweden

Stockholm Exp. 1930

9

22

1909 – 1930

3

Sweden

C. Milles Garden

1

 

1906

Box 4

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

4

Guatemala

 

 

4

1937

4

Germany

 

15

12

1932

4

Germany

Potsdam

2

8

 

4

Germany

Munich

11

 

 

4

Greece

 

3

1

 

4

India

 

2

 

1930 – 1933

4

Japan

 

2

2

 

4

Japan

Horyuji

16

 

1929 - 1953

4

Japan

Kamakura

4

10

 

4

Japan

Kyoto

11

64

1931 - 1963

4

Japan

Kyoto Arashyma

 

9

 

4

Japan

Nagasaki

 

5

 

4

Japan

Nara

8

20

 

4

Japan

Tokio

7

16

1957

4

Japan

Uji

 

3

 

4

Africa

Africa

3

 

1967

4

Austria

Vienna

9

7

 

4

Austria

Schonbrun

3

14

 

4

Azores

Madeira

2

1

1910

4

Filed under Canada

Really Guatemala – Guatemala City

1

 

1937

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 5

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

5

China

 

1

18

1934

5

China

Chieh Tai Ssu

 

73

1955

5

China

Tan C’hih Ssu

 

49

 

5

China

Peking

29

33

 

5

China

Peking Temple of Heaven

2

7

 

5

China

Peking Ming garden Mr. Wellington Koo

 

11

 

5

China

Peking Lama Temple

 

8

 

5

China

Ku Wang Hsien

 

15

 

5

China

Shanghai

 

18

 

5

China

Soo Chow

 

33

 

5

China

Tai Yuan Fou

 

7

 

5

China

Ting Chou (Hsien)

 

13

 

5

China

Wu Tai Shan

1

81

1936

5

China

Wu Tai Hsien

 

1

 

5

China

Wu Tai Travel

 

48

 

5

Denmark

 

 

8

 

5

Denmark

Copenhagen

11

22

 

5

East Indies

 

1

 

 

5

East Indies

Java

1

 

1931

5

England, Great Britain and Ireland

 

18

25

1920 - 1936

5

England

London

16

 

 

5

Ireland

 

1

2

 

5

Unknown

unknown

 

17

 

5

China

Perip

 

7

1939

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 6

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

6

United States

 

4

1

1928-1966

6

Connecticut

Simsbury

 

34

1962

6

Connecticut

South Norwalk

 

2

 

6

Hawaii

Honolulu

 

22

 

6

Illinois

 

 

2

1914

6

Louisiana

 

14

 

1939

6

Maine

 

10

5

1937

6

Maine

Bangor

4

11

1957

6

Maine

Portland

1

 

 

6

Maryland

 

1

 

1911

6

Massachusetts

 

6

5

1966-1970

6

Massachusetts

Boston

53

 

1950

6

Massachusetts

Brookline

3

3

1958

6

Massachusetts

Cambridge

2

9

1944

6

Massachusetts

Cape Cod

2

 

 

6

Massachusetts

Concord

11

4

1925

6

Massachusetts

Gloucester

1

20

1939

6

Massachusetts

Manchester

 

4

 

6

Massachusetts

Marion-Medford-Melrose

3

 

1955

6

Massachusetts

Nantucket

7

1

1952

6

Massachusetts

Needham

1

1

1957

6

Massachusetts

Salem

6

 

 

6

Massachusetts

Sheffield

1

 

 

6

Massachusetts

Stockbridge

12

30

1940

6

Massachusetts

Waverley

1

 

 

6

Massachusetts

Williamstown

45

2

1968

6

Michigan

 

 

8

 

6

Minnesota

 

1

 

 

6

New Hampshire

 

2

 

1951

6

New Hampshire

Cornish

2

 

 

6

New Hampshire

Jaffrey

4

 

1921

6

New Hampshire

Peterborough

9

 

 

6

New Hampshire

Portsmouth

6

 

1926

6

New Hampshire

Squam Lake

2

 

 

6

New Jersey

 

 

4

1961

6

New York

 

4

 

 

6

New York

Albany

1

 

 

6

New York

Glenora

5

 

 

6

New York

Rochester

4

32

 

6

New York

Pittsford

15

11

 

6

North Carolina

 

1

 

1912

6

Ohio

 

1

 

1912

6

Pennsylvania

 

 

8

 

6

Pennsylvania

Bethlehem

1

 

 

6

Pennsylvania

Philadelphia

2

19

 

6

Rhode Island

Providence

1

1

1967

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 7

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

7

South Carolina

Charleston

8

3

 

7

South West

 

13

58

 

7

Virginia

 

7

8

 

7

Virginia

Charlottesville

10

 

 

7

Virginia

Lexington

1

 

 

7

Virginia

Lynchburg

3

 

 

7

Virginia

Natural Bridge

1

 

 

7

Virginia

Orange

2

 

 

7

Virginia

Richmond

3

 

 

7

Virginia

Warm Springs

3

8

1912

7

Wyoming

 

5

3

 

7

Wyoming

Yellowstone Park

 

11

 

7

Wyoming

Arapahoe

 

4

1920

7

Alaska

 

1

 

 

7

Arizona

 

 

5

 

7

New Mexico

 

5

7

 

7

Italy

 

15

14

 

7

Italy

Caserta

10

1

 

7

Italy

Collodi

 

8

 

7

Italy

Florence

33

29

1913

7

Italy

Frascati

5

6

 

7

Italy

Genoa

 

2

 

7

Italy

Herculaneum

 

11

 

7

Italy

Lakes

18

8

1923

7

Italy

Lucca

8

1

 

7

Italy

Montecassino

6

 

 

7

Italy

Naples

11

30

 

7

Italy

Padula

 

16

 

7

Italy

Pompeii

7

 

1921

7

Italy

Ravenna

3

 

 

7

Italy

Rome

48

17

1937-1955

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 8

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

8

Italy

Siena

4

 

1928

8

Italy

Tivoli

5

11

1913-1956

8

Italy

Venice

40

2

1933-1958

8

Italy

Viterbo

30

19

1922-1933

8

Sicily

 

1

7

1963

8

Sicily

Agrigentum

 

4

 

8

Sicily

Bagheria

 

17

 

8

Sicily

Cefalu

 

4

 

8

Sicily

Modica

 

4

 

8

Sicily

Monreale

3

 

1938

8

Sicily

Palermo

7

6

1930

8

Sicily

Raguso

 

1

 

8

Sicily

Syracuse

4

6

 

8

Sicily

Taormina

1

20

1936

8

Madiera

 

2

1

 

8

Mexico

 

3

17

1950-1958

8

Mexico

Mexico City

11

54

1933

8

Mexico

Yucatan

4

 

 

8

Mexico

Chichen Itza

34

39

 

8

Mexico

Merida

5

 

1931

8

Mexico

Uxmal

4

1

 

8

Near East

 

1

 

1961

8

Norway

 

8

 

 

8

Portugal

 

1

 

1921

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 9

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

9

Architecture

 

48

 

 

9

Italy Architecture

 

1

 

1946

9

Pre-Ren.

 

7

 

 

9

Early Ren.

 

101

 

 

9

474

 

20

 

 

9

Classic modern details

 

9

 

 

9

Classic and Modern Interiors

 

1

 

 

9

Material

 

2

 

 

9

Arches

 

13

 

 

9

Balustrade

 

36

 

 

9

Billboards

 

4

 

 

9

Bridges

 

41

 

 

9

Building Material

 

1

 

 

9

Cemeteries

 

13

 

 

9

City Gates Wall

 

4

 

 

9

Clock

 

1

 

 

9

Collonades Arcades

 

5

 

 

9

Courts-Cloist

 

25

 

 

9

Curbs

 

2

 

 

9

Doors

 

12

 

 

9

Dormers

 

1

 

 

9

Drainage Details

 

12

 

 

9

Espalier

 

3

 

 

9

Fences

 

25

 

 

9

Filling stations

 

11

 

 

9

Picnic

 

9

 

 

9

Fountains

 

46

 

 

9

Fountains Italy

 

34

 

 

9

Modernistic Gardens

 

1

 

 

9

Monuments

 

25

 

 

9

Fountain Wall

 

20

 

 

9

Flying

 

25

 

 

9

Furniture England

 

1

 

 

9

Furniture France

 

1

 

 

9

Garden

 

6

 

 

9

Garden Theatre

 

2

 

 

9

Gates Garden

 

45

 

 

9

Landscape

 

2

 

 

9

Lighting

 

6

 

 

9

Little Gardens

 

1

 

 

9

Masonry

 

5

 

 

9

Metal Work

 

28

 

 

9

Mexico

 

8

 

 

9

Mosaic

 

19

 

 

9

Garden Furniture

 

11

 

 

Inventory of Steele's Postcard Collection Box 10

Box

Country

City

# postcards

# photos

Year Range

10

Miscellaneous Subjects

 

65

 

 

10

Trees Clipped

 

53

 

 

10

Personal

 

155

 

 

10

Pulpits

 

7

 

 

10

Sculpture

 

131

 

 

10

Painting

 

190