The Marshall Family of NY - their history and legacy. Remembering Louis - Robert "Bob" and George Marshall.: The Marshall Family

The Marshall Family.

The Marshall family of NYS including Louis Marshall, Robert “Bob” Marshall and George Marshall have played major roles in NYS history including the preservation and conservation of the Adirondacks and also with roles in the history of the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. This LibGuide will review the environmental activism of Louis, Bob and George Marshall and the lasting impacts their interests in preserving the environment still have on us today. Highlights of archival items from the Marshall family held at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry will be shown throughout this LibGuide.

The Archives of The Marshall Family.

The Terence J. Hoverter Archives at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry has a number of Marshall archives.

• The original manuscript for Bob's book - The Arctic Village. The manuscript is filled with Marshalls edit’s and hand written notations.
• Letters Bob wrote to his family during his time in Wiseman, Alaska.
• Original Writings of Bob's that he called - "Weekend trips in the Cranberry Lake region”.

The American Jewish Historical Society - Center for Jewish History in New York has extensive papers of Louis Marshall for the period 1905 to 1933.

• Here is a link to their finding aid http://findingaids.cjh.org//LouisMarshall.html

The Bancroft Library - University of California in Berkeley, California has extensive archives for George Marshall for the period 1945 to 1980.

• Here is a link to a finding aid for the collection  http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt3z09r9hn/entire_text/?query=%22Uncovering%20California%27s%20Environmental%20Collections%22

The Bancroft Library - University of California in Berkeley, California also has extensive archives for Robert Marshall for the period 1908 to 1939.

• Here is a link to a finding aid for the collection http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/tf0z09n4np/?query=robert+marshall