Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Services: Collections

This guide outlines services available from Moon Library for faculty, staff, and instructors at SUNY ESF.

Physical and Virtual Collections in Moon Library

Moon Library has just over 130,000 print volumes on the shelves and we provide access to over 160,000 journal titles and 170,000 ebooks through about 130 databases. In addition to these resources, we have about 875 items in our institutional repository (Digital Commons at ESF) and we have access to over 32,000 titles through the Empire Shared Collection which is housed at the University at Buffalo.

Almost all of our resources can be searched via Primo on the library homepage search our Journal Finder (see Journals tab on library homepage under the search bar) for specific journals, or browse our Databases list to find a general or specific database for your needs. Please see our department guides or ask a librarian for suggestions on your research topics and areas.

The library also has a few unique collections and curates displays throughout the year. On a shelf in the main reading room of the library is the ESF Authors collection where we have gathered all the books authored or coauthored by various faculty and staff over the years. See also the What We're Reading list which features recent popular titles focused on a theme.

Purchase Requests

The library welcomes suggestions for purchase. For more information about suggesting a purchase and a request form, go here: http://www.esf.edu/moonlib/facorder.htm. You may also contact Ruth Owens (rmowens@esf.edu) with questions. While we strive to purchase items that are requested, we often cannot not subscribe to new journals due to limited budgets. Sometimes a book or article may be obtained through interlibrary loan rather than purchased. 

What We're Reading