Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fletcher Steele - Landscape Architect: Personal and Business Archives

Jane Verostek - Associate Librarian at SUNY ESF created this guide to provide information about landscape architect Fletcher Steele. The SUNY ESF Archives and Special Collections contains the personal and business archives of Steele.

Personal and Business Archives

Personal and Business Archives

This collection of personal and business archives shows us a different side of Steele. The collection contains Steele's sketchbooks and special exhibits and projects Steele worked on outside of his usual business. These are housed in 6 black archival boxes that are are 20 1/2 in. x 16 1/2 in. x 2 in.

 

 

Personal and Business Archives

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

Folder 1 item 1

Oil on canvas sketch 1

1 of 2. House and field.

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

Folder 2 item 2

Oil on canvas sketch 2

2 of 2. House and field

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

-

Sketchbook # 2, 149

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

-

Sketchbook # 10, 157

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 8, 155

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 4, 151

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 5, 152

soft cover or no hard cover

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 3, 150

unbound sheaf accordion style

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 12, 159

half size

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 7, 154

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 9, 156

mostly blank

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 6, 153

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook unnumbered

soft cover

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Wall paper sample, note

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook # 1, 148

 

Fletcher Steele Business 1

Sketchbooks, Sketches

 

Sketchbook unnumbered

accordion style, mostly blank

 

Personal and Business Archives

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 133

EP 1.133

 

the rose garden, stone walls

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 346 EP 1.346

 

lawn, garden, shrubs

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 346 EP 2.346

 

lawn, arabesque path

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 341 EP 1.341

 

boulder, trees

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 341 EP 2.341

 

wall, cats, rail (wind from right)

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 341 EP 3.341

 

wall, cats, rail (wind from left)

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 301 EP 1.301

Camden Library Theater

looking toward harbor

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 250 EP. 1.250

 

lawn, steps, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 250 EP 2.250

 

Sundial, steps, porch

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 250 EP 3.350

 

porch, archways

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 250 EP 4.250

 

stonewall, lawn, sundial, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 250 EP 1.299

 

cemetery, mounument

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 299 EP 2.299

 

monument front, cemetery background

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 166 EP 1.166

 

reflecting pool, fountains, terrace, arbor. Sent in by Mr. Fuller. Pub. May 1934 “The Sportsmen”

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 315 EP 1.315

 

residence, meadow

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 315 EP 2.315

 

roses, flowers

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 248,  EP 1.248

 

garden, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 248, EP 2.248

 

garden, terrace, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 248, EP 3.248

 

garden, terrace, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 248, EP 4.248

 

summer house, lawn

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 248, EP 5.248

 

garden, terrace, steps

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 261, EP 1.261

Hopkins Memorial Steps

front-view

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 261, EP 2.261

 

sideview steps

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 261, EP 3.261

 

top view, light posts, church

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 395, EP 1.395

 

statue rear, pool, residence

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 395, EP 2.395

 

urns, garden

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 395, EP 3.395

 

the arbor

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 1, EP 1.1

St. Anthony Hall

lawn, plantings, elm

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 269, EP 1.269

 

gates, right exterior

Fletcher Steele Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 269, EP 2.269

 

gates facing door

Fletcher Steel Business 2

Exhibits

Client # 320, EP 1.320

 

plantings, ‘lot in Mt. Auburn cemetery’

 

Personal and Business Archives

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 35.256

#64 Northeast Bedroom on 2nd Floor

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 36.256

#65 East Attic Mission House

Copyrighted 1931. Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 37.256

#66 Parlor, mission House

(copyright unknown?) Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 38.256

#68 Back Hall, 1st Floor, looking into parlor

Copyrighted 1931 Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 39.256

#69 West Bedroom Mission House, 2nd Floor

Copyrighted 1931 Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 40.256

#70 Mission House Parlor

Copyrighted 1931 Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 41.256

#71 NE Children’s Bedroom, Mission House

Copyrighted 1931

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 42.256

#76 Back Hall 1st Floor

Copyrighted 1931, Appears in July 1930 House Beautiful

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 43.256

#77 West Bedroom Panneling, Mission House, 2nd Floor

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 44.256

#78 West Bedroom, 2nd Floor, mission House

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 45.256

#79 Study Mission House, 2nd Floor

Copyrighted House Beautiful transferred to Mission House 1931. Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 46.256

#80 Mission House Kitchen

Copyrighted 1931 House Beautiful (only). Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 47.256

#81 Front Hall & Tablet Mission House

Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 49.256

#83 Kitchen Mission House

Copyrighted 1931. Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House - Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 50.256

#84 Front Hall (with Door Bolted)

Copyright House Beautiful (ID: Moon-MI) Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 51.256

#85 Kitchen

Copyright House Beautiful 1931, transferred to Mission House. Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House – Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 48.256

#82 East bedroom

Copyright 1931 Includes exact size photocopy

Fletcher Steele Business 3

256 Stockbridge Mission House- Interiors

Client#: 256

EP 52.256

#88 East Bedroom, 2nd floor Mission House

Includes exact size photocopy

 

Personal and Business Archives

 

 

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP  10.256

 

Orchard garden, future museum, covered walk

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 11.256

 

covered walk, orchard garden, future museum

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 12.256

Photo # M 20

caretaker house, cobbler shop, mainstreet

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 13.256

Photo # M 22

caretaker house, smokehouse, future museum

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 14.256

Photo # 41

front door, dooryard garden

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 15.256

 Photo # 42

Main street, Cobbler Shop, caretaker house

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 4.256

 

Well sweep, arbor house

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 5.256

Photo # 1

Mission house, cobbler shop, orchard garden

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 6.256

 

Frontgate, dooryard garden, view from house to street

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 8.256

 

Frontgate, dooryard garden, front door

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 9.256

 

Cobbler Shop, Orchard garden, caretaker house

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 21.256

 

Covered walk, rough paving, future museum

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 3.256

 

Backside, Street, fences

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256

EP 7.256

 

Frontgate, dooryard garden, front door

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 1.256

 

mission house, dooryard garden, fence

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 16.256

 

memorial tablet

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 17.256

 

Open front door, memorial tablet

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 18.256

 

Mission house, grape arbor, orchard garden. Typed title attached to back of mount

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 19.256

 

side street, fence, yard, mission house

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 2.256

 

Caretaker house, future museum, brick walk

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 22.256

 

dooryard garden, front door, main street, mission house

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 23.256

 

Covered walk, mission house, orchard garden

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client # 256 EP 24.256

 

side gate ajar, barn

Fletcher Steele Business 4

Stockbridge Mission House Interiors

Client #256

EP 20.256

 

Covered walk, roughstone paving, caretaker house, future museum, well

 

Personal and Business Archives

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client #324 EP 1.324

 

1 of 2.  main entrance, courtyard, rhododendrons. Sharp background/focus

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client #324 EP 2.324

 

2 of 2. main entrance, circles, softer background

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 3.324

 

arch, lawn

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 4.324

 

house, mall, fountain

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 5.324

 

main drive, house, garage, pines, urns on the entry posts

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 6.324

 

wall, water and fountain, pine apple outside base of pool

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 7.324

 

main entrance, house, fate and rub side of house, looking across drive

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 8.324

 

lawn, wall and benches, trees, high grass sprouts

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 9.324

 

portico view onto lawn, bowling green, Diana’s in the shadow of fountain, turned off

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 10.324

 

main courtyard, house, garage, rhododendrons are in bloom

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 11.324

 

fountain, wall, steps

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 12.324

 

large fountain, lawn, house

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client #324 EP 13.324

 

statue, lawn, fountain, looking over bowling green

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 14.324

 

water fountain, wall (pineapple).

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 15.324

 

house, lawn, rhododendron borders, steps through at right angels

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 16.324

 

Courtyard and main entrance, urns on gateway posts, house

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 17.324

 

Statue (diana and deer), grass lawn, steps leading to bowling green. Note: Paul J Weber Vol 1 (L30) p 11 for publishing info

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client #324 EP 18.324

 

Wall, fountain, circle pool, fountain, waterworks 2 of 3

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 19.324

 

Fountain, water jet, border of ivy

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 20.324

 

Courtyard entrance, house front

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 21.324

 

1 of 2. pineapple, stairs, wall

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 22.324

 

2 of 2. Pineapple, stairs, wall

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 23.324

 

lawn, slope, retainer wall, stone inscribed “ALLEN”. Printed on thin tissue-like paper.

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client #324 EP 24.324

 

path to circle, fence, fluted water fountains at right. Printed on thin tissue-like paper.

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 25.324

 

Pool, aerating water jet. Printed on thin tissue-like paper.

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 26.324

 

looking up at waterfalls to balustrade. Printed on thin tissue-like paper.

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 27.324

 

fountain, water jet, balustrade. Top left corner loosened

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 28.324

 

Falls, balustrade, left pineapple. 10/07- glue residue spots, edging becoming metallic

Fletcher Steele Business 5

Russell Tyson, No. Andover, MA “Rolling Ridge”

Client # 324 EP 29.324

 

Right stairs, ballustrade, pineapple. 07/06- 8 dots of glue residue

 

Personal and Business Archives

Box #

Box

Description

Client # & Item#

Item number & title

Notes

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

-

Fletcher Steele Address Book 1914+

bagged due to cover decay. Personal and business contacts

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

-

John Fletcher Steele Scrapbook

Ticket stubs, newspaper clippings, photos, numerous loose items

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

-

Fletcher Steele Photo

Portraits Photo of young Mr. Steele

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

-

 Inspector in American National Red Cross Certificate

Dated December 1918

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

-

State if Connecticut Landscape Architect Degree

Dated Nov 15 1968

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

 

17c engraving drawing series

 

Fletcher Steele Personal 1

Fletcher Steele Memorabilia

 

Les Jardins Précieuse by Raymond Charmais