Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
S.U. Databases to search for jobs and for information on companies
In order to search the following S.U. databases you need to be on the S.U. campus - within their IP range.
Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S. Full abstract and indexing coverage begins with 1992. Full text available for over 600 titles.
Business Insights: Essentials
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
Business Source Elite
Use the "Company Profiles" tab in the upper blue bar to view in-depth (with SWOT analysis) company reports from Datamonitor!
D & B Million Dollar Database
D&B's North American Million Dollar Database provides the information professional, marketer and sales executive with information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies. Big databases like this one use a lot of public information, so don't be surprised or disappointed if you find a few errors. It happens. Check out the family tree link in this one, it's an interesting feature. And save your work, you'll get timed out if idle for 20 minutes!
Hoover's Company Profiles
This database contains proprietary information about public and non-public companies and key executives. Hoover's delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
IBIS World - Business Environment International
Research the current status of industries in which you want to be employed.
Look for links to their "company dossier" feature to pull data and facts on specific companies searched.
Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Financial information of public company -- US Company Data Direct, which contains more than 10,000 U.S. companies (including EDGAR (SEC) filings) and International Company Data Direct, which contains more than 17,000 non-U.S. companies.
Plunkett Research Online
Plunkett research online takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.
ReferenceUSA : Business
Detailed directory information on U.S. businesses.
Uniworld provides multinational business contact information, covering over 190 countries. The "American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries Directory" covers American companies that have a substantial investment in overseas operations. The "Foreign Firms Operating in the United States" directory covers companies that have a substantial investment in American operations.