Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusive Excellence: Resources for Learning About Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This guide is designed for all ESF students, staff, and faculty to become familiar with important issues regarding inclusive excellence.

Campus Contacts

Student Certification for Usage of Military Benefits:

ESF VA Certifying Official | Leslie A. Rutkowski, College Registrar, larutkow@esf.edu

Contacts:

OEF Army Veteran | Dr. Lizette Rivera, Director of Student Inclusion Initiatives and Special Assistant to the CDO, Office of Inclusion, Diversity and Equity (OIDE), Baker Lab 450, lrivera@esf.edu

OIDE Student Veteran Coordinator |  Christopher Goonan, Coast Guard Veteran, cpgoonan@syr.edu

 

Resources

In an effort to formally recognize students who use names other than their legal names on a daily basis, SUNY ESF is implementing a Chosen/Preferred First Name Procedure through which students can officially notify the College of their preferred name. Through this process, the College will update the student’s name on a variety of electronic records and communication systems. Please read below for further information about this procedure and the limitations of changes.

Change your name at SUNY ESF

Change your name legally in New York State

Your DNA can reveal your heritage and ancestors you never knew you had--places and people deep in your past where records can't always take you. Identity cannot be commandeered by simply discovering that you have a particular heritage. Please be careful to respect the cultural legacy of all identities. The list below is not an endorsement, rather, it is a sampling of resources that may assist you in determining your race and/or ethnic heritage.

To see what makes you unique, try Ancestry.com

Find your roots with 23 and Me

Uncover Ethnic Origins using My Heritage DNA

Discover your true story! GPS Origins

Start your journey with Living DNA

 

Health and safety are critically important to the learning environment. The ability to choose a public restroom that meets individual needs is an expectation that should be met across the campus. The campus' goal is to provide a range of bathroom options in all buildings, whenever possible. Modifications are underway to provide additional multi-user gender inclusive restrooms across campus.

Locations of Women’s, Gender Inclusive/All-Gender & Single Occupant Bathrooms

Google Map of Bathrooms on Campus

 

National Resources

American Veterans for Equal RightsA non-profit and non-partisan Veterans Service Organization of active, reserve, and veteran service members dedicated to full and equal rights and equitable treatment for all present and former members of the U.S. Armed Forces

Place of Worship | Faith & non-faith resources in Syracuse

Student Legal Services | Free Legal Services for SU and ESF Students

Syracuse University Office of Multicultural Affairs | The SU OMA provides support and promotes the academic achievement, multicultural competence, social development, civic engagement, and retention of students from historically underrepresented racial/ethnic groups at Syracuse University.

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

Volunteer Lawyers Project | A non-profit legal aid organization that provides free legal information, assistance, and representation in civil legal matters to low-income people. Our services are provided by volunteer attorneys with the help of law students and are supervised by a small staff. Our mission is to provide equal access to justice to those in need.

U.S. Citizenship Application | Apply for a US Citizenship following these 10 steps.

General Requirements for Acquisition of Citizenship at Birth | From the US. Citizenship and Immigration Services states “a person born in the United States who is subject to the jurisdiction of the United States is a U.S. citizen at birth, to include a person born to a member of an Indian, Eskimo, Aleutian, or other aboriginal tribe”.

Passport for U.S. Born Baby | The passport application form and additional information may be found at the U.S. Department of State website. Instructions for the U.S. Passport Application, including the Requirements for Children section are available on the site.

Office of International Education | Supports the greater internationalization of ESF through the development and delivery of services and programs that help international students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals.

ESF Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships

VA/GI Bill Help |  U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Human Rights Campaign LGBT Student Scholarship Database | List of scholarships by state

Point Foundation | National LGBTQ scholarship fund

SUNY Smart Track | Empowered Financial Planning

The Gates Millennium Scholars | The Gates Millennium Scholars (GMS) Program, funded by a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, was established in 1999 to provide outstanding low-income African American, American Indian/Alaska Native, Asian Pacific Islander American, and Hispanic American students with an opportunity to complete an undergraduate college education in any discipline they choose.

My Next Move  | Career Help for Veterans

Career One Stop | Website for veterans looking for military transition resources, continuing education, job search help, unemployment, and other benefits

Feds Hire Vets | Works across the Federal Government to increase the number of veterans, transitioning military service members, and their families employed and retained in the civil service

VA for Vets | Gateway to VA Careers for veterans

Asian Pacific Islander Resources

API Equality-LA | Asians and Pacific Islanders for LGBT Equality- coming out resources

National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance | Advocacy and education organization

Syracuse University LGBT Resource Center | The SU LGBT RC provides community building, outreach and visibility, and intellectual and leadership development that centers the experience of people with marginalized sexualities and genders.

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

African American Resources

Blacklight Online | Black LGBTQ magazine

BlackCuse Pride | We are the voice of the LGBTQ inner-city community

National Black Gay Mens Advocacy Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for Black gay men

National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) | Civil rights organization for Black LGBT/SGL people

Zuna Institute | Advocacy organization for Black lesbians

Chicanx and Latinx Resources

Latino GLBT History Project | Collection of GLBT historical archives

Latino USA | Podcast of LGBTQ Latino/a stories

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

Native American Resources

NativeOUT | Organization for Indigenous LGBTQ/Two-Spirit people in North America

Native Youth Sexual Health Network | Education and advocacy organization for indigenous youth

Other Resources

Southerners On New Ground | Regional Queer liberation organization made up of Southern LGBTQ people

Moon's Library's Guide to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity | Guideline to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity.

CNY Solidarity Coalition

Crisis Text Line | Crisis Text Line is free, 24/7 support for those in crisis. Text 741741 from anywhere in the US to text with a trained Crisis Counselor. Crisis Text Line trains volunteers to support people in crisis. With over 100 million messages processed to date, we’re growing quickly, but so is the need.

Sexual Assault & Violence Response (SAVR) Resources  | SUNY SAVR provides information to seek resources and support, and to report crime to law enforcement and campus police.

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

ESF Athletics | ESF Athletics Resources and Information

You Can Play Project | Promoting respect for all athletes

NCAA Office of Inclusion | NCAA resources and information

ACR Health | ACR Health is a not-for-profit, community-based organization whose services include syringe exchange, drug user health hub, prevention and sexual health services, and the network of Q Centers and support groups for LGBTQ people, families, and allies, as well as navigators to help individuals and businesses make informed health insurance decisions.

Counseling Services | SUNY ESF Counseling Services

LGBT Veteran Care at the Syracuse VA Medical Center | Program Coordinator

315-425-4400 Ext. 51004

NAMI Syracuse | National Alliance on Mental Illness

Planned Parenthood  | Provides reproductive healthcare including cancer screenings, STI testing, and health and wellness services

Local/State Resources

Career Services for Veterans | SUNY ESF Career Services for Veterans

Clear Path for Veterans | A single point of contact for Veterans, military members, and their families we engage, support, and make it easy to connect with what you need with a commitment to providing a welcoming place to call home.

NYS Attorney General Resource Guide for Veterans and Service Members | Provides resources for veterans about education, civil protections, benefits exclusive to New York state, and other helpful information for service members and veterans

NYS Division of Veterans' Services | Advocates on behalf of New York’s Veterans and their families, as individuals and as a group, to ensure they receive benefits granted by law for service in the United States Armed Forces.

Onondaga County Veterans Service Agency | To provide information, assistance and advocacy for claimants in actions or claims against the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or state and local veterans-related entitlements.

Student Veterans of America | Student Veterans of America is the premier organization leading service, research, programs, and advocacy for veterans in higher education.

Syracuse VA Vet Center 

Team Red White and Blue | Aiming to help active duty service members transition out of the military, joining veterans already living in communities nationwide.

VA Medical Center | To fulfill President Lincoln's promise “To care for him who shall have borne the battle, and for his widow, and his orphan” by serving and honoring the men and women who are America’s Veterans.

Reporting Bias or Discrimination

Bias Reporting | ESF has a Bias Response Program for reporting bias, an umbrella term that includes, but is not limited to, incidents of harassment, discrimination, hate crimes, and microaggressions. Any person who has experienced or witnessed a bias incident is encouraged to report it and seek the necessary resources.

Policy Against Discrimination, Harassment and Related Interpersonal Violence

Every member of the campus community, including faculty and staff should use their best efforts to accommodate students and staff who are pregnant and parenting, pursuant to ESF policies.  The college does not intentionally discriminate in any of its education or employment programs and activities on the basis of an individual’s membership in any protected classes as set forth in state or federal law. To that end, the Non-Discrimination Policy, prohibits specific forms of behavior that violate state and federal laws, including but not limited to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”), the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013 (“VAWA”), and related state and federal anti-discrimination laws.

If any member of our community feels they have been discriminated against, harassed, or treated unfairly due to their pregnancy or parenting related issues, and/or based on their sex or gender, they are strongly encouraged to report the issue. Reports may be directed to:

  • Title IX Coordinator/Affirmative Action Officer Amy McLaughlin, 445 Baker Laboratory, aimclaug@esf.edu

OR

  • Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Malika Carter, 445 Baker Laboratory, mcarte06@esf.edu.