Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusive Excellence: Resources for Learning About Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This guide is designed for all ESF students, staff, and faculty to become familiar with important issues regarding inclusive excellence.

Resources

In an effort to formally recognize students who use names other than their legal names on a daily basis, SUNY ESF is implementing a Chosen/Preferred First Name Procedure through which students can officially notify the College of their preferred name. Through this process, the College will update the student’s name on a variety of electronic records and communication systems. Please read below for further information about this procedure and the limitations of changes.

Change your name at SUNY ESF

Change your name legally in New York State

Your DNA can reveal your heritage and ancestors you never knew you had--places and people deep in your past where records can't always take you. Identity cannot be commandeered by simply discovering that you have a particular heritage. Please be careful to respect the cultural legacy of all identities. The list below is not an endorsement, rather, it is a sampling of resources that may assist you in determining your race and/or ethnic heritage.

To see what makes you unique, try Ancestry.com

Find your roots with 23 and Me

Uncover Ethnic Origins using My Heritage DNA

Discover your true story! GPS Origins

Start your journey with Living DNA

 

Health and safety are critically important to the learning environment. The ability to choose a public restroom that meets individual needs is an expectation that should be met across the campus. The campus' goal is to provide a range of bathroom options in all buildings, whenever possible. Modifications are underway to provide additional multi-user gender inclusive restrooms across campus.

Locations of Women’s, Gender Inclusive/All-Gender & Single Occupant Bathrooms

Google Map of Bathrooms on Campus

 

National Resources

American Association of University Women (AAUW) | American Association of University Women advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) | The American Medical Women’s Association is an organization which functions at the local, national and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health.

CNY Solidarity Coalition | CNY Solidarity Coalition is a grassroots coalition of organizations and individuals that aims to protect and fight alongside People of Color, Immigrants, Refugees, LGBTQI people, the Muslim Community, the Jewish Community, Women, People with Disabilities, People with Mental Illness, the Deaf Community, Teachers, Scientists, Environmentalists, and all other marginalized and oppressed groups and entities that are likely to be targeted in these uncertain times.

League of Women Voters of the United States (LWV) | The League of Women Voters of the United States, a nonpartisan political organization, has fought since 1920 to improve systems of government and impact public policies through citizen education and advocacy.

National Association for Female Executives (NAFE) |Founded in 1972, the National Association of Female Executives provides education, networking and public advocacy to empower its members to achieve career success and financial security

National Council of Negro Women (NCNW) | NCNW’s mission is to lead, develop and advocate for women of African descent as they support their families and communities. NCNW fulfills this purpose through research, advocacy and national and community-based services and programs.

Syracuse University Office of Multicultural Affairs | The SU OMA provides support and promotes the academic achievement, multicultural competence, social development, civic engagement, and retention of students from historically underrepresented racial/ethnic groups at Syracuse University.

Student Legal Services | Free Legal Services for SU and ESF Students

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

Volunteer Lawyers Project | A non-profit legal aid organization that provides free legal information, assistance, and representation in civil legal matters to low-income people. Our services are provided by volunteer attorneys with the help of law students and are supervised by a small staff. Our mission is to provide equal access to justice to those in need.

YWCA USA | The YWCA is one of the oldest and largest multicultural women’s organization in the world. The YWCA’s mission is to eliminate racism and empower women.

U.S. Citizenship Application | Apply for a US Citizenship following these 10 steps.

General Requirements for Acquisition of Citizenship at Birth | From the US. Citizenship and Immigration Services states “a person born in the United States who is subject to the jurisdiction of the United States is a U.S. citizen at birth, to include a person born to a member of an Indian, Eskimo, Aleutian, or other aboriginal tribe”.

Passport for U.S. Born Baby | The passport application form and additional information may be found at the U.S. Department of State website. Instructions for the U.S. Passport Application, including the Requirements for Children section are available on the site.

Office of International Education | Supports the greater internationalization of ESF through the development and delivery of services and programs that help international students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals.

ESF Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships

Human Rights Campaign LGBT Student Scholarship Database | List of scholarships by state

Lambda 10 Project | National clearinghouse for LGBT fraternity and sorority issues

Point Foundation | National LGBTQ scholarship fund

SUNY Smart Track | Empowered Financial Planning

Zonta International | Zonta International is a global organization of executives and professionals working together to advance the status of women worldwide through service and advocacy. As support with Scholarship.

Asian Pacific Islander Resources

API Equality-LA | Asians and Pacific Islanders for LGBT Equality- coming out resources

National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance | Advocacy and education organization

Syracuse University LGBT Resource Center | The SU LGBT RC provides community building, outreach and visibility, and intellectual and leadership development that centers the experience of people with marginalized sexualities and genders.

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

African American Resources

Blacklight Online | Black LGBTQ magazine

BlackCuse Pride | We are the voice of the LGBTQ inner-city community

National Black Gay Mens Advocacy Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for Black gay men

National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) | Civil rights organization for Black LGBT/SGL people

Zuna Institute | Advocacy organization for Black lesbians

Chicanx and Latinx Resources

Latino GLBT History Project | Collection of GLBT historical archives

Latino USA | Podcast of LGBTQ Latino/a stories

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

Native American Resources

NativeOUT | Organization for Indigenous LGBTQ/Two-Spirit people in North America

Native Youth Sexual Health Network | Education and advocacy organization for indigenous youth

Southerners On New Ground | Regional Queer liberation organization made up of Southern LGBTQ people

General Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC)| Work in their own communities to support the arts, preserve natural resources, advance education, promote healthy lifestyles, encourage civic involvement, and work toward world peace and understanding.

Girls Incorporated | A national nonprofit youth organization dedicated to inspiring all girls to be strong, smart and bold.

Moon's Library's guide to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity | Guide line to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity.

National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals Inc. | a professional society that educates and advocates for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer students and professionals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

National Organization for Women (NOW) |The largest organization of feminist activists in the United States, NOW has 500,000 contributing members and 550 chapters in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Since its founding in 1966, NOW’s goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women.

She Runs It | She Runs It brings together the women and men who want to help build a better marketing and media landscape. One where a woman runs her projects, runs her team, runs the department, runs the business, and runs her life. They believe together, we can create a world where no matter the task or ask – She Runs It.

Syracuse University/ESF LGBT Resource Center | Community building, outreach/networking, and intellectual/leadership development that centers marginalized genders and sexualities

Women in Technology International (WITI) | Women in Technology International is a trade association for tech-savvy women, empowering women in business and technology to achieve unimagined possibilities.

 

COLAGE | Support and advocacy organization for children of LGBT parents

Emergency Assistance for Adults | Financial assistance

Medical Insurance | Medicaid

National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) | The National Council of Jewish Women is a volunteer organization that has been at the forefront of social change through championing the needs of women, children, and families — while taking a progressive stance on such issues as child welfare, women’s rights, and reproductive freedom.

Parents, Friends, and Families of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) | Advocacy and support organization for family/friends

Trans Youth Family Allies | Advocacy and support organization for trans youth and their families

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program | Food Assistance

 

CNY Solidarity Coalition |

Crisis Text Line | Crisis Text Line is free, 24/7 support for those in crisis. Text 741741 from anywhere in the US to text with a trained Crisis Counselor. Crisis Text Line trains volunteers to support people in crisis. With over 100 million messages processed to date, we’re growing quickly, but so is the need.

Sexual Assault & Violence Response (SAVR) Resources 

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

ESF Athletics | SUNY ESF Athletics webpage

Women’s Sports Foundation |The Women’s Sports Foundation is a national charitable educational organization dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women of all ages and skills levels through physical activity.

You Can Play Project | Promoting respect for all athletes

NCAA Office of Inclusion | NCAA resources and information

Counseling Services | SUNY ESF counseling services

NAMI Syracuse | National Alliance on Mental Illness

Planned Parenthood  | Provides reproductive healthcare including cancer screenings, STI testing, and health and wellness services

Local/State Resources

Asian Women In Business | Asian Women In Business (AWIB) is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization with the primary mission of assisting Asian women entrepreneurs and professionals.

Reporting Bias or Discrimination

Bias Reporting | ESF has a Bias Response Program for reporting bias, an umbrella term that includes, but is not limited to, incidents of harassment, discrimination, hate crimes, and microaggressions. Any person who has experienced or witnessed a bias incident is encouraged to report it and seek the necessary resources.

Policy Against Discrimination, Harassment and Related Interpersonal Violence

Every member of the campus community, including faculty and staff should use their best efforts to accommodate students and staff who are pregnant and parenting, pursuant to ESF policies.  The college does not intentionally discriminate in any of its education or employment programs and activities on the basis of an individual’s membership in any protected classes as set forth in state or federal law. To that end, the Non-Discrimination Policy, prohibits specific forms of behavior that violate state and federal laws, including but not limited to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”), the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013 (“VAWA”), and related state and federal anti-discrimination laws.

If any member of our community feels they have been discriminated against, harassed, or treated unfairly due to their pregnancy or parenting related issues, and/or based on their sex or gender, they are strongly encouraged to report the issue. Reports may be directed to:

  • Title IX Coordinator/Affirmative Action Officer Amy McLaughlin, 445 Baker Laboratory, aimclaug@esf.edu

OR

  • Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Malika Carter, 445 Baker Laboratory, mcarte06@esf.edu.