Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusive Excellence: Resources for Learning About Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This guide is designed for all ESF students, staff, and faculty to become familiar with important issues regarding inclusive excellence.

Resources

In an effort to formally recognize students who use names other than their legal names on a daily basis, SUNY ESF is implementing a Chosen/Preferred First Name Procedure through which students can officially notify the College of their preferred name. Through this process, the College will update the student’s name on a variety of electronic records and communication systems. Please read below for further information about this procedure and the limitations of changes.

Change your name at SUNY ESF

Change your name legally in New York State

Your DNA can reveal your heritage and ancestors you never knew you had--places and people deep in your past where records can't always take you. Identity cannot be commandeered by simply discovering that you have a particular heritage. Please be careful to respect the cultural legacy of all identities. The list below is not an endorsement, rather, it is a sampling of resources that may assist you in determining your race and/or ethnic heritage.

To see what makes you unique, try Ancestry.com

Find your roots with 23 and Me

Uncover Ethnic Origins using My Heritage DNA

Discover your true story! GPS Origins

Start your journey with Living DNA

 

Health and safety are critically important to the learning environment. The ability to choose a public restroom that meets individual needs is an expectation that should be met across the campus. The campus' goal is to provide a range of bathroom options in all buildings, whenever possible. Modifications are underway to provide additional multi-user gender inclusive restrooms across campus.

Locations of Women’s, Gender Inclusive/All-Gender & Single Occupant Bathrooms

Google Map of Bathrooms on Campus

 

National Resources

Amnesty International | Advocacy and education organization for global LGBT human rights

Bisexual Resource Center | International education and support organization for bisexual and progressive issues

CNY Solidarity Coalition | CNY Solidarity Coalition is a grassroots coalition of organizations and individuals that aims to protect and fight alongside People of Color, Immigrants, Refugees, LGBTQI people, the Muslim Community, the Jewish Community, Women, People with Disabilities, People with Mental Illness, the Deaf Community, Teachers, Scientists, Environmentalists, and all other marginalized and oppressed groups and entities that are likely to be targeted in these uncertain times.

Equality Forum | Advocacy organization for LGBT equality- large events and creative media

Family Equality Council | Social and advocacy organization for LGBT parents and their families

Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders | Legal and education organization for LGBT people and people with HIV

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) | Promotes accurate and inclusive representation in the media

Gay, Lesbian, & Straight Education Network (GLSEN) | Organization of gay and straight educators

Human Rights Campaign (HRC) | Advocacy organization for gay and lesbian rights

Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund | Legal and public policy organization

LGBT+ Friendly Faith Centers | There are many places of worship in New York that are excited about participating in marriage equality.

Marriage Equality USA | Advocacy organization for LGBT marriage equality

National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) | Civil rights organization for Black LGBT/SGL people

National Center for Transgender Equality | Advocacy organization dedicated to the equality of transgender people

National Coalition for LGBT Health | Advocacy organization for improved LGBT healthcare

National LGBTQ Task Force | Advocacy organization for LGBTQ civil rights

National Organization for Women (NOW) | Advocacy organization for the rights of women of all sexual orientations

OutServe-SLDN | Legal and policy organization for currently serving LGBT military personnel and veterans..

The Transgender Law and Policy Institute | Legal and public policy organization for transgender people

Transgender Law Center | Legal and public policy organization for transgender people

Syracuse University Office of Multicultural Affairs | The SU OMA provides support and promotes the academic achievement, multicultural competence, social development, civic engagement, and retention of students from historically underrepresented racial/ethnic groups at Syracuse University.

Syracuse University The LGBT Resource Center | The SU LGBT RC provides community building, outreach and visibility, and intellectual and leadership development that centers the experience of people with marginalized sexualities and genders.

Student Legal Services | Free Legal Services for SU and ESF Students

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

Volunteer Lawyers Project | A non-profit legal aid organization that provides free legal information, assistance, and representation in civil legal matters to low-income people. Our services are provided by volunteer attorneys with the help of law students and are supervised by a small staff. Our mission is to provide equal access to justice to those in need.

U.S. Citizenship Application | Apply for a US Citizenship following these 10 steps.

General Requirements for Acquisition of Citizenship at Birth | From the US. Citizenship and Immigration Services states “a person born in the United States who is subject to the jurisdiction of the United States is a U.S. citizen at birth, to include a person born to a member of an Indian, Eskimo, Aleutian, or other aboriginal tribe”.

Passport for U.S. Born Baby | The passport application form and additional information may be found at the U.S. Department of State website. Instructions for the U.S. Passport Application, including the Requirements for Children section are available on the site.

Office of International Education | Supports the greater internationalization of ESF through the development and delivery of services and programs that help international students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals.

Campus Pride | Online resource network for student leaders and campus organizations

ESF Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships |

Human Rights Campaign LGBT Student Scholarship Database | List of scholarships by state

Lambda 10 Project | National clearinghouse for LGBT fraternity and sorority issues

SUNY Smart Track | Empowered Financial Planning

The Point Foundation | National LGBTQ scholarship fund

Asian Pacific Islander Resources

API Equality-LA | Asians and Pacific Islanders for LGBT Equality- coming out resources

National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance | Advocacy and education organization

Syracuse University LGBT Resource Center | The SU LGBT RC provides community building, outreach and visibility, and intellectual and leadership development that centers the experience of people with marginalized sexualities and genders.

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

African American Resources

Blacklight Online | Black LGBTQ magazine

BlackCuse Pride | We are the voice of the LGBTQ inner-city community

National Black Gay Mens Advocacy Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for Black gay men

National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) | Civil rights organization for Black LGBT/SGL people

Zuna Institute | Advocacy organization for Black lesbians

Chicanx and Latinx Resources

Latino GLBT History Project | Collection of GLBT historical archives

Latino USA | Podcast of LGBTQ Latino/a stories

Unity Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for LGBT equality

Native American Resources

NativeOUT | Organization for Indigenous LGBTQ/Two-Spirit people in North America

Native Youth Sexual Health Network | Education and advocacy organization for indigenous youth

Other Resources

Southerners On New Ground | Regional Queer liberation organization made up of Southern LGBTQ people

Bisexual Resource Center | Research, education and support about issues of bisexuality

Equality Forum FORTUNE 500 Non-discrimination Project | Review of FORTUNE 500 non-discrimination compliance

GLBT Historical Society | Collection of LGBT historical archives

Latino GLBT History Project | Collection of GLBT historical archives

National Consortium of Higher Education Resource Professionals | LGBT topics and resources in higher education

National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals Inc. | a professional society that educates and advocates for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer students and professionals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives at USC | Maintains world’s largest collection LGBT materials

People with a History | An online guide to LGBT history

Queer Resources Directory (QRD) | Electronic library of LGBT news/resources

Soc. Bi | Online open forum on bisexuality

Syracuse University/ESF LGBT Resource Center | Community building, outreach/networking, and intellectual/leadership development that centers marginalized genders and sexualities

COLAGE | Support and advocacy organization for children of LGBT parents

Emergency Assistance for Adults | Financial assistance

Medical Insurance | Medicaid

Parents, Friends, and Families of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) | Advocacy and support organization for family/friends

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program | Food Assistance

Trans Youth Family Allies | Advocacy and support organization for trans youth and their families

CNY Solidarity Coalition |

Crisis Text Line | Crisis Text Line is free, 24/7 support for those in crisis. Text 741741 from anywhere in the US to text with a trained Crisis Counselor. Crisis Text Line trains volunteers to support people in crisis. With over 100 million messages processed to date, we’re growing quickly, but so is the need.

The LGBT National Hotline | Telephone and email peer-counseling

JQYouth | Support organization for LGBT Jewish youth and their families

Sexual Assault & Violence Response (SAVR) Resources  | SUNY SAVR provides information to seek resources and support, and to report crime to law enforcement and campus police.                                         

The Trevor Project | 24/7 suicide & crisis prevention helpline for LGBT and questioning youth

Trans LifeLine | Trans Lifeline’s Hotline is a peer support service run exclusively by trans people, for trans and questioning callers. Our operators are located all over the U.S. and Canada, and are all trans-identified. If you are in crisis or just need someone to talk to, even if it’s just about whether or not you’re trans, please call us. It is the only crisis line with a policy against non-consensual active rescue.
Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

ESF Athletics | ESF Athletics resources and Information

Outsports | National LGBT sports news source

Campus Pride Sports Index | Equity in Higher Education in Sports

Athlete Ally | Allies for LGBT+ athletes professional and collegiate

You Can Play Project | Promoting respect for all athletes

NCAA Office of Inclusion | NCAA resources and information

ACR Health | ACR Health is a not-for-profit, community-based organization whose services include syringe exchange, drug user health hub, prevention and sexual health services, and the network of Q Centers and support groups for LGBTQ people, families, and allies, as well as navigators to help individuals and businesses make informed health insurance decisions.

Counseling Services | SUNY ESF Counseling Services

NAMI Syracuse | National Alliance on Mental Illness

National Coalition for LGBT Health | Advocacy organization for improved LGBT healthcare

Native Youth Sexual Health Network | Education and advocacy organization for indigenous youth

Planned Parenthood  | Provides reproductive healthcare including cancer screenings, STI testing, LGBT+ services, and health and wellness services.

Q Center at ACR Health Center | Promotes community and well-being of LGBT youth.

Rad Remedy | RAD Remedy's mission is to connect trans, gender non-conforming, intersex, and queer folks to accurate, safe, respectful, and comprehensive care in order to improve individual and community health.

Local/State Resources

Q Center at ACR Health Center | Promotes community and well-being of LGBT youth.

SAGE Upstate | Intergenerational space to promote the well-being of older LGBT people.

CNY Pride | Serves the CNY LGBT community through Pride Parade and Festival

Reporting Bias or Discriminiation

Bias Reporting | ESF has a Bias Response Program for reporting bias, an umbrella term that includes, but is not limited to, incidents of harassment, discrimination, hate crimes, and microaggressions. Any person who has experienced or witnessed a bias incident is encouraged to report it and seek the necessary resources.

Policy Against Discrimination, Harassment and Related Interpersonal Violence

Every member of the campus community, including faculty and staff should use their best efforts to accommodate students and staff who are pregnant and parenting, pursuant to ESF policies.  The college does not intentionally discriminate in any of its education or employment programs and activities on the basis of an individual’s membership in any protected classes as set forth in state or federal law. To that end, the Non-Discrimination Policy, prohibits specific forms of behavior that violate state and federal laws, including but not limited to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”), the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013 (“VAWA”), and related state and federal anti-discrimination laws.

If any member of our community feels they have been discriminated against, harassed, or treated unfairly due to their pregnancy or parenting related issues, and/or based on their sex or gender, they are strongly encouraged to report the issue. Reports may be directed to:

  • Title IX Coordinator/Affirmative Action Officer Amy McLaughlin, 445 Baker Laboratory, aimclaug@esf.edu

OR

  • Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Malika Carter, 445 Baker Laboratory, mcarte06@esf.edu.