Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusive Excellence: Resources for Learning About Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This guide is designed for all ESF students, staff, and faculty to become familiar with important issues regarding inclusive excellence.

Resources

In an effort to formally recognize students who use names other than their legal names on a daily basis, SUNY ESF is implementing a Chosen/Preferred First Name Procedure through which students can officially notify the College of their preferred name. Through this process, the College will update the student’s name on a variety of electronic records and communication systems. Please read below for further information about this procedure and the limitations of changes.

Change your name in SUNY ESF

Change your name legally in New York State

Your DNA can reveal your heritage and ancestors you never knew you had--places and people deep in your past where records can't always take you. Your DNA can reveal your heritage and ancestors you never knew you had--places and people deep in your past where records can't always take you. Identity cannot be commandeered by simply discovering that you have a particular heritage. Please be careful to respect the cultural legacy of all identities. The list below is not an endorsement, rather, it is a sampling of resources that may assist you in determining your race and/or ethnic heritage.

To see what makes you unique, try Ancestry.com

Find your roots with 23 and Me

Uncover Ethnic Origins using My Heritage DNA

Discover your true story! GPS Origins

Start your journey with Living DNA

Health and safety are critically important to the learning environment. The ability to choose a public restroom that meets individual needs is an expectation that should be met across the campus. The campus' goal is to provide a range of bathroom options in all buildings, whenever possible. Modifications are underway to provide additional multi-user gender inclusive restrooms across campus.

Locations of Women’s, Gender Inclusive/All-Gender & Single Occupant Bathrooms

Google Map of Bathrooms on Campus

National Resources

African American Knowledge Community | Increases members' awareness of, knowledge about, and appreciation for issues unique to African American professionals working in higher education and student affairs.

CNY Solidarity Coalition | CNY Solidarity Coalition is a grassroots coalition of organizations and individuals that aims to protect and fight alongside People of Color, Immigrants, Refugees, LGBTQI people, the Muslim Community, the Jewish Community, Women, People with Disabilities, People with Mental Illness, the Deaf Community, Teachers, Scientists, Environmentalists, and all other marginalized and oppressed groups and entities that are likely to be targeted in these uncertain times.

ColorComm | ColorComm is an essential organization for women of color in all areas of communications including Public Relations, Corporate Communications, Advertising Print Media, Broadcast, Digital and more.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) | The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.

National Association of Black Journalists | The National Association of Black Journalists was founded in 1975 and is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of African-American journalists worldwide.

National Black Justice Commission | NBJC is America's leading national Black LGBT civil rights organization focused on federal public policy. The mission is to end racism and homophobia. NBJC provides leadership at the intersection of national civil rights groups and LGBT organizations, advocating for the unique challenges and needs of the African American LGBT community.

National Council of Negro Women, Inc. (NCNW) | The National Council of Negro Women is an assembly of national African-American women’s organizations and community-based sections. Founded in 1935, the NCNW’s mission is to lead, develop and advocate for women of African descent as they support their families and communities.

100 Black Men of America | The mission of 100 Black Men of America is to improve the quality of life and enhance educational and economic opportunities for all African Americans.

National Urban League | Founded in 1910, The National Urban League uses programs, research and advocacy to advance civil rights for people of color.

Syracuse University Office of Multicultural Affairs | Provides the necessary support and guidance needed to encourage students to become members of a community respectful of differences.

Student Legal Services | Free Legal Services for SU and ESF Students

Vera House | A group that supports victims of sexual and domestic abuse through counseling, advocacy, education, and shelter.

Volunteer Lawyers Project | A non-profit legal aid organization that provides free legal information, assistance, and representation in civil legal matters to low-income people. Our services are provided by volunteer attorneys with the help of law students and are supervised by a small staff. Our mission is to provide equal access to justice to those in need.

U.S. Citizenship Application | Apply for a US Citizenship following these 10 steps.

General Requirements for Acquisition of Citizenship at Birth | From the US. Citizenship and Immigration Services states “a person born in the United States who is subject to the jurisdiction of the United States is a U.S. citizen at birth, to include a person born to a member of an Indian, Eskimo, Aleutian, or other aboriginal tribe”.

Passport for U.S. Born Baby | The passport application form and additional information may be found at the U.S. Department of State website. Instructions for the U.S. Passport Application, including the Requirements for Children section are available on the site.

Office of International Education | Supports the greater internationalization of ESF through the development and delivery of services and programs that help international students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals.

Black Scholarships | The largest online directory of scholarships and financial aid opportunities for African American and other minority students.

ESF Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships

Human Rights Campaign LGBT Student Scholarship Database | List of scholarships by state

Point Foundation | National LGBTQ scholarship fund

Scholarships for Black Students | A list of recent scholarships for black students that are currently accepting applications.

SUNY Smart Track | Empowered Financial Planning

Blacklight Online | Black LGBTQ magazine

BlackCuse Pride | We are the voice of the LGBTQ inner-city community

National Black Gay Mens Advocacy Coalition | Advocacy and education organization for Black gay men

National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) | Civil rights organization for Black LGBT/SGL people

Zuna Institute | Advocacy organization for Black lesbians

African American Organization | List of Organizations that you need to know

American Association of Black In Energy | Dedicated to ensuring the Input of African American into the discussions and developments of energy policies, regulations, R&D technologies and environmental issues

Information Technology Senior Management | To increase the representation of black professionals at senior levels in technology

Moon's Library's Guide to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity | Guide line to Inclusion, Diversity and Equity.

National Museum of African American History and Culture |  The only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. 

National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals Inc. | a professional society that educates and advocates for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer students and professionals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

National Society of Black Engineers | Increase the number of culturally responsible African-American engineers who excel academically.

Syracuse University/ESF LGBT Resource Center | Community building, outreach/networking, and intellectual/leadership development that centers marginalized genders and sexualities.

United Negro College Fund | Nation’s largest and most comprehensive minority higher-education assistance organization

COLAGE | Support and advocacy organization for children of LGBT parents

Emergency Assistance for Adults | Financial assistance

Medical Insurance | Medicaid

Parents, Friends, and Families of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) | Advocacy and support organization for family/friends

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program | Food Assistance

Trans Youth Family Allies | Advocacy and support organization for trans youth and their families

ESF Athletics | SUNY ESF Athletics webpage

You Can Play Project | Promoting respect for all athletes

NCAA Office of Inclusion | The National Collegiate Athletic Association’s resources and information

ACR Health | ACR Health is a not-for-profit, community-based organization whose services include syringe exchange, drug user health hub, prevention and sexual health services, and the network of Q Centers and support groups for LGBTQ people, families, and allies, as well as navigators to help individuals and businesses make informed health insurance decisions.

Counseling Services | SUNY ESF Counseling Services

Planned Parenthood  | Provides reproductive healthcare including cancer screenings, STI testing, and health and wellness services.

NAMI Syracuse | National Alliance on Mental Illness

Sexual Assault & Violence Response (SAVR) Resources  | SUNY SAVR provides information to seek resources and support, and to report crime to law enforcement and campus police.

Local/State Resources

100 Black Men of Syracuse | The 100 Black Men of Syracuse, Inc. seeks to serve as a beacon of leadership by utilizing our diverse talents to create an environment where our children are motivated to achieve and to empower our people to become self-sufficient shareholders in the economic and social fabric of the communities we serve.

Upstate Minority Economic Alliance | Harnessing the economic power of the minority for the benefit of the region.

Reporting Bias or Discrimination

Bias Reporting | ESF has a Bias Response Program for reporting bias, an umbrella term that includes, but is not limited to, incidents of harassment, discrimination, hate crimes, and microaggressions. Any person who has experienced or witnessed a bias incident is encouraged to report it and seek the necessary resources.

Policy Against Discrimination, Harassment and Related Interpersonal Violence

Every member of the campus community, including faculty and staff should use their best efforts to accommodate students and staff who are pregnant and parenting, pursuant to ESF policies.  The college does not intentionally discriminate in any of its education or employment programs and activities on the basis of an individual’s membership in any protected classes as set forth in state or federal law. To that end, the Non-Discrimination Policy, prohibits specific forms of behavior that violate state and federal laws, including but not limited to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”), the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013 (“VAWA”), and related state and federal anti-discrimination laws.

If any member of our community feels they have been discriminated against, harassed, or treated unfairly due to their pregnancy or parenting related issues, and/or based on their sex or gender, they are strongly encouraged to report the issue. Reports may be directed to:

  • Title IX Coordinator/Affirmative Action Officer Amy McLaughlin, 445 Baker Laboratory, aimclaug@esf.edu

OR

  • Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Malika Carter, 445 Baker Laboratory, mcarte06@esf.edu.