Skip to main content

ESF in the High School: Free Journal Article Databases

This guide helps high school student looking for help with doing research. Come here for help on how to use library catalogs and databases. Highlights include a list of free online open access journal article databases. Guide created by: Jane Verostek

Options for finding reliable full text journal articles.

Other good sources for journals, newspapers, and more available for free on the Internet:

Google Scholar - A search engine for scholarly publications from peer-reviewed journals, professional societies, books, theses, and other sources.

Highwire Press - Offers free articles in biological, physical and social sciences and medicine. The site includes a search engine. Highwire has also put together a list of links to other large archives of scientific resources (highwire.stanford.edu/lists/largest.dtl)

Public Library of Science - A nonprofit scientific/medical organization making articles available for free.

BioMed Central - Publishes a number of journals that are available as open access, including Environmental Health and Journal of Biology. Others are available free to registered users.

OAIster - Indexes over three million digitized resources worldwide and can be limited to text, images, audio, or video files.

The Directory of Open Access Journals - Includes articles from more that 700 titles from around the world. Ethics in Science and Environmental Politics, Fishery Bulletin, Journal of Construction Education, and Biopolicy are just a few of the titles included.

Scirus - An archive of open-access articles and reports on science and technology.

Scientific Journals International - A Publisher of open-access journals in science, technology, health, education, and social sciences. Links to online issues are included.

Encyclopedia of Life - A collaborative initiative to collect information on every species on earth. Contributing organizations include Smithsonian Institution, Royal Botanic Garden, and American Museum of Natural History.

WorldCat - Sometimes called the catalog of catalogs, WorldCat lets you search through library holdings from thousands of libraries around the world. Search for everything from books, articles, CDs, DVDs, audio files, and more. This is a great resource for locating material that can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan if it is not available on the Internet.

 

Free Journal Article Databases

Using your local public library to find journal articles.

Your local public library system offers access to many databases free of charge. For example the Onondaga County Public Libraries http://www.onlib.org/web/databases/index.htm has databases with journal and newspaper archives and much more!

Be sure to visit your public library to get a library card and 4 digit PIN (Personal Identification Number) and you can access the public library databases from home and anywhere you have access to the internet. Also be sure to ask your school librarian to see what databases you school library has available.

Here are the broad topics covered in the Onondaga County Public Library databases.

·  Art & Music

·  Automotive

·  Biography

·  Books and Literature

·  Business

·  Education & Careers

·  Encyclopedias

·  Genealogy

·  Health

·  History & Social Science

·  Magazines

·  News & Newspapers

·  Reference

·  Religion & Philosophy

·  Science & Technology

·  Students K-8